Visiting the death cabin of Aleksis Kivi - The most important character in Finnish literature [running update]

It's only been four runs in four weeks but I've still observed huge progress on my cardio vascular strenght and oxygen taking ability, and now it's only my calves and knees that are bottle necking me (don't worry; should only be for my legs not getting used to long distances, and my technique should be fine, though one can always work on it). So I'll take a small break to let those fully recover. The good news is that I can always replace running with bicycling during my running brake.

Before reporting about my last run, @arbitrarykitten, the creator of the #manifestchallenge experiment, deserves a big thank you for getting me kick start this running journey of mine!


So, this time I ran along the Lake Road next to Lake Tuusula that I live only couple of kilometers away from. The total distance covered was about 12 kilometers which was longer than I thought before looking the distance from Google Maps.

After getting from work I was feeling down, like really down; I felt like doing absolutely nothing for the rest of the day. But I made a promise on Day 5 and I do not want to break my word if there is no reason absolutely stopping me.

But again, the run cleared my mind when entering the flow and I already felt better after it. Not like 'happy', but my mood was notably better.

The Lake Tuusula besides of which the Lake Road goes on the nearer shore when looking at the picture.



The Tuusula Lake Road
-Artist's Community


In the early 1900's many masters of the Finnish word, picture and melodies left their imprint on the Tuusula Lake Road symbolised by the Finnish national writer Aleksis Kivi. Lake Tuusula attracted to the area many artists of Finnish Golden age. They created a distinctive community in the rural environment they admired. Within the Lake Road wealthy officials, tradesmen and artists worked to develop Finnish identity. The writer Juhani Aho with his wife Venny Soldan-Brofeldt were first to move to Lake Road at 1897. Soon they were accompanied by painter Pekka Halonen and Eero Järnefelt, a poet J. H. Erkko and composer Jean Sibelius. Onnela and Syväranta were famous guesthouses on the Lake Road. Both were regularly visited by the poet Eino Leino.


Along the Lake Road there is the death cabin of Aleksis Kivi, the most influential Finnish writer who wrote his original and realistic witty roman of Seven Brothers which was to become his most known and possibly the most important novel ever in Finnish literature, today acknowledged as the national novel of Finland. Unfortunately his sense of writing wasn't appreciated during his lifetime in an era of romanticism that his work collided against with the tells of fooleries and his clever realizations of the relationships of the seven brothers.


The death cabin of Aleksis Kivi
Owned by:
Helsinki University's students' association

He's health was unstable for his whole life, and in 1870 his downhill started: he suffered from alcoholism depression, insomnia, headaches and nausea. 1871 he was sent to mental hospital but his state, diagnosed as chronic melancholia, was incurable. His brother, Alpertti, took him to his cabin in 1872 where he died later the same year on December only at the age of 38.

~


I didn't manage to take a picture of the whole cabin itself because my iPhone froze (they are notorious for crippling in the cold climates, hrmph it was barely minus degrees) but at least I managed to take these few pictures before freezing. So that'll be left for some other time to photo.

On the pictures and views upon the ambiance of Finnish culturohistorical views comes the time to end running part of this challenge.

And now it's I'm getting for a well earned recover. But do not worry; I will continue running having such noticeable development on my fitness, for sure!

But in the meantime I'll replace running with biking, so stay tuned for potential explores in the future ;)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now