Life and Mallorca, 3 of ?

Good day one and all, my name is Asher and I'm a British expat who escaped to Mallorca, Spain, just before the end of 2020. A week following my flight, no British nationals have been allowed to fly to the island unless they have permanent residency here - something I'm still trying obtain.

Yep, 3 months following my first appointment in the capital, Palma, I'm still waiting to hear if they will allow me to live here and hand over the tax on my English wages and crypto. During this time, I've met people who have bought houses - I just want a card and to give the country some much needed cash!

I'm hoping that no news is good news and that they are just way behind schedule due to people like me rushing in at the last minute, Covid-19, and the usual case of 'mañana, mañana'. I also hope that I've not got ahead of myself today, having transferred a bunch of Euros for a secondhand (fourth) car. Handing over my UK license only to find out it will be the one I need in a few months time would be a pain. Although, what I am thinking, anywhere but back to the UK!

Steadily, although it is windy a hell today and not warm at all, the weather is picking up and I have been both hiking and riding my bike around the area when the mood has suited, and I needed a day off from drinking and HIIT.


Cala Anguila is about 15km from home, and a fairly flat ride overall. I visited again last week after a 3 year absence, and it was a lot quieter this time...

IMG-20210228-WA0017.jpg

20210228_144149.jpg

20210228_144123.jpg

The same Cala in the Autumn of 2017:


image.png
Old post image revival!

The lack of tourists has decimated the economy here, which is heavily dependent on the sector. The beaches are loving it though, and so are the people 'stranded' on the island :)

This is a field with a big mound of dirt in center shot, which could be mistaken for a lazy cow.

IMG-20210228-WA0016.jpg

One of my few friends at present.....

20210314_100450.jpg


Last month I took my drone to Puig de na Penyal and spotted a hole in the rock 3/4 of the way up the hill. Recently I made an effort to find my way to it through the forest of cacti.

20210311_174701.jpg

20210311_174431.jpg

20210311_174526.jpg

20210311_174147.jpg

I'm pretty sure some kick-ass photos could be taken from the cave, looking out over Cala Millor and Sa Coma. Maybe I'll try again at some point :)


And to finish, because I post with images from Mallorca would not be complete without, a couple of sunset photos.

IMG-20210311-WA0043.jpg

IMG-20210311-WA0044.jpg

I visited the west coast of the island a couple of weeks ago, which is where the above were taken. Hopefully, with my residency card and Spanish driving license in hand, I can take many more trips and share some new locations.

Roll on the summer :)

Cheers

Ash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency