Motivating factor #1

Thinking back to the reasons why i got into music, going back to my childhood and being influenced by all of the music from the 1960's. After watching the "A hard days night"movie by the Beatles, it made me and every other kid want to be a star, having screaming girls chase you around and being special.Now that was cool! I was not good at Baseball or Soccer, but i tried, so music was something i could learn and be a somebody. I would daydream at school and at recess walk around with songs like "ticket to ride" or "Satisfaction" going through my head. Thinking i was the Beatles or the Rolling Stones or whoever i liked at the time. Being born in October, i was still 5 when i started school, i didn't realize how the month we are born in has a huge effect on your standing with our peers in school. Malcolm Gladwell wrote a book called "Outliers" where he looks at successful individuals, he talks of how the cut off for hockey players or other sports is January 1st of each year. So the children born in January, February,and March, generally make up the rosters of the teams. the reason being is that children born early in the year have the optimal time to grow and develop. Compared to a child born in October, November or December. Thats why some parents will hold back a child so they have the advantage of the time to develop. So being good at sports for me was not going to happen, but having an older brother who was into music gave me another advantage. Also being dyslexic gave me another challenge, just learning how to read was very difficult for me. But listening to music was something i could really love to do and watching Television and movies of course. So the motivating factor for me looking back in retrospect was that i was drawn to music because it was an option and it was cool.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now