What Got Me Into Riichi Mahjong (Part 2)

Mahjong is a very interesting game. When I explain the game to some one who has never played before, I said it is "a mix of Chess and Poker".

You will have to plan ahead and think multiple steps ahead like Chess, and sometimes you will have to be bold and takes some risks, while reading your opponent's bluffs like Poker. It gets intense, but at the same time it is very fun and intriguing.

But over the past few years, Mahjong has taught me things that is big enough to compare to "Life" itself. Let me explain.

After moving back to the United States to continue my education and career, I have met with so many different people. I've learned how to do and not do certain things as an adult. Some things, I had to learn the hard way. Going through life hurdles, I came across an online posting. The posting was to find other Mahjong players nearby.

I responded to the post, and it ended up being several people meeting up in a small room. The main host just learned how to play Mahjong through a friend, but that friend didn't want to play with the host because she wasn't "good enough" at the time. So the host decided to find people for her to practice with. This was the start of my second Mahjong journey.

After about a year or two, some of us decided to leave that group. The main reason was because the host was very picky with who she wanted to play with. As one of the group's main coordinator, I didn't believe the game should be limited to her judgment alone. I wanted the game to be open to everyone, and anyone who wanted to play.

So another year after some of us left, we played in my room, and little by little, new faces started to appear. The new faces ultimately became the foundation of a new and bigger group that we formed in Los Angeles. The main concept for this group, was to spread Riichi Mahjong to the world. We rented a small office and advertised the new location. In the past, there were many underground Mahjong parlors and places where people put money on the table. Although betting small amounts at home wasn't something authorities put time in to justify, it was still illegal. So our group decided that in order to spread Riichi Mahjong, we cannot allow anyone to gamble. Interesting movement, since majority of the people, especially in Japan, come from some kind of gambling background.

I personally never gambled through Mahjong in my life. I've never been to a Mahjong parlor (Jan-Sou) while I was living in Japan, and never felt the need in order to enjoy the game. Some people tend to disagree, but this is just something that I personally believe in.

Our new Mahjong group in Los Angeles grew at a rate far more than expected.

We created online contents, participated and created tournaments and events, as well as an internal league. I don't know this as a fact, but I think this was the first of its kind in the United States. Existing clubs prior to this group had regular meet ups here and there, but as far as I know, no one had a designated location where players came to pay- to-play. Of course, no gambling and all legally!

Several years gone by, and ultimately I decided to leave this group as well.

Why?

That is a whole other topic, but to simplify everything, it was trust issues. My other co-founders were hiding things behind my back, and that was something I could not glimpse over to maintain what I helped create.

I still felt like I had much more in my tank to give back to the Mahjong community, so I decided to create this new website. A movement that will help make more Mahjong related professions. Wether it be in the forms of translating strategy books, or creating content online, or even creating merchandise. I personally believe that this will be the next step for the game to grow.

Now, what has Mahjong taught me that is big enough to compare to "Life"?

It is about this entire journey. It is about the people. It is about creating something new. It is about believing what is right and wrong. It is about doing what you know you can do best.

Creating a new group from scratch, and putting your passion towards something is everyone's ideal goal in my opinion. We live in a society, and everyone has a role within it. It is for a bigger and greater cause. All occupations are for this main cause.

And because Mahjong has taught me so many things in life through these experiences, I truly believe that many others can benefit from it as well.

It's not just a game. It is a representation of "Life".

Small battles are happening within yourself, and while playing with 3 other players. The deeper you understand it, the deeper it gets.

The funny thing is that there is no right or wrong answer. It is subjective to a certain degree. To accept that for your self and about others will be key to life as a whole.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center