Ten Days of Reflection: Challenge Day 4. Roses in Ice. Original photography. Nature's Beauty.

Night.
The beloved.
Night, when word's fade.
And things come alive.
~Antoine de Saint-Exupery.

One of my loves in imagery is transparency: And working with ice has given me the chance to explore this. ~Ally.

Another visual feature of my ice pieces is the way the light caresses their slightly uneven surface. The reflections of jewelled light: Such a challenge to capture.

1500-37.jpg

Roses in Ice.


Lighting.

Lighting plays a very important role when photographing these ice pieces with the view to highlighting their transparency and exquisite reflections.

Some of the masters of 'frozen flower art' use light boxes to obtain the back lighting needed for their imagery. Still in the dark ages ~ I love natural lighting. In my next Ten Days of Reflection I'll describe my studio lighting.


Ten Days of Reflection Challenge.

The rules of this challenge are simple and can be found HERE.


Thank's so much @ilovedietcoke for creating this inspiring #tendaysofreflection challenge where the beauty of reflections: Whether they be in nature or the 'material world' can be highlighted for all to enjoy.


I'd like to nominate Olga @olga.maslievich or anyone else with an eye for the wonder of reflections to join the Ten Days of Reflection Challenge.


Ten Days of Reflection.

Ten Days of Reflection: Challenge Day 1.
Ten Days of Reflection: Challenge Day 2. Bass Point Marine Reserve.
Ten Days of Reflection: Challenge Day 3. Tidal pools at Shellharbour.


Art and Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
Camera: Sony Alpha A7 Mark II.
Processing: Lightroom.


T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center