Bugs in my garden #2 -- Melbourne, Australia.

🐛 BUGS IN MY GARDEN 🐞

This first bug is a Huntsman spider. These guys are harmless but can get BIG! Bigger than your hand big! They have been the cause of many car accidents. They like to drop out from behind your sun visor and run across your windscreen.

19.JPG

A spider fly or "small headed fly".
This was a mission to find the species name. I found one image of a similar insect, almost identical except the one I found on google has a metallic shine. These flys maggots grow inside of a spider and slowly eat it from the inside out! Thats where it gets the name "spider fly".

3.png

READ MORE ABOUT SPIDER FLYS HERE

4.png

Praying mantis!

7.png

8.JPG

Lacewing.
The larva of these guys are ugly little suckers. Ferocious to!

2.png

Grasshopper!

18.JPG

This is my favourite photo of the day. A fruitfully chilling next to a gum nut cap.

5.png

Thanks for looking! I hope you enjoyed the photos. They were taken on a Canon powershot sx430. I'm still getting used to the settings so any advice given will be received with a smile!

rambozo.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center