Macrophotography: close-up of plumeria, the fragrant beauty of the tropics

Hi Steemmates!

I haven’t competed in the #macrophotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests for a while but I just stumbled upon this nice close-up shot of plumeria from the Canary Islands, Spain that I would like to share with you today.

shut 5.jpg
Click on the image for full view

So what is it this little floral cutie? Plumeria is a beautiful flowering plant that people usually associate with the islands of Hawaii but in fact, this shrub can be found in most tropical regions all over the world from the Central America to South East Asia and Polynesia.

Named after the renowned French botanist Charles Plumier, plumeria comes in more 300 different varieties and countless color combinations. While its distinctive five-petalled flowers make it an easily recognizable and very sought-after plant, few people actually know that plumerias are most fragrant at night to attract the sphinx moths that pollinate them.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center