My entry for the 7 DAYS MACRO-PHOTOGRAPHY CHALLENGE #2 by @flamingirl

ocellated skink

DMC-TZ80 1/250 sec. f/4 8.4 mm ISO 80

ocellated skink

I did not need to look for this one today. He came calling so I took the picture for the #macrophoto-challenge . This one is a very small Skink. They do grow to about 300mm (one foot) long. This is about as large as I have ever seen one. We have a lot of rubble walls in which they tend to live in the voids. This one is around 50 mm (2") long so only a small one. Although they have legs they tend to slide along on their belly like a snake. Often they look like snakes as they pull their legs really tight into their body giving a snake-like appearance.

Proof:

**The two pictures below are for proof of original image. **
original skink.jpg
This on the camera.
I am trying out this little camera for those times when carrying a DSLR is a bit silly. So far I am very pleased with it.

P1010503.jpg
This one is where I first saw it. He's a tiny little thing but still capable of eating the two species of lizards we have here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center