How safe is your front door?


easy-to-pick-door-lock-not-safe.jpg

By accident I stumbled on some video about lock picking (I had auto play on). Like most people I always wondered if it was as easy as it looked in the movies. I'm sure all of us want to be like Bond, James Bond!
After watching a few videos and seeing other people open locks within seconds I had to see if these people were just trying to pull the wool over my eyes or was it really that easy.

Well since I do not have a lock picking kit (I just ordered one from eBay :), I tried the paper clip trick. Unfortunately all I had was some thin, weak ones at home, so I tried it with a bobby pin my daughter provided. Well that turned out to be a dollar store special and it broke when I tried to fashion it into a tension bar and pick.

Then I found a video on making some out of an old windshield washer blade. I quickly ran out to my garage to fetch an old one I knew I had. The only part you want is the thin stainless steel metal pieces that hold it onto the arm.
You can fashion a pick out of these with a simple file or a small belt sander or whatever else you can find that works.

Within no time at all I had my crude pick set and started working on a few older locks I had lying around which did not have keys. They consisted of a Master lock disguised as a U-haul lock, 2 round Abus locks and and old brass looking U-haul lock.

Uhaul_master_lock.jpg Uhaul_round_lock_21Mm.jpg Uhaul-Brass-Padlock-Lock.jpg

I would like to say that right away I got them all opened, but then I would be fibbing. I messed with them, put them down, watched more videos, tried them again, but the first day it was a no go.
The second day however, and many more videos later, I popped the cheap Master lock open in about 20 seconds and can now consistently open it.
The round locks took a little more effort, but eventually I did get them.
The brass U-haul lock seems to be gunked up inside, so I don't know if that will ever work.

So what does this have to do with your front door? Read on....

Now at this point I am not a master lock picker, so off I went to find other locks in my house. Front door bolt lock was a breeze! So was the door handle lock. This was very disappointing to say the very least.

Bedroom door lock took me a couple of tries, but I eventually got it.

I practically went around to each lock in my house and picked it. Some took me seconds and some a couple minutes.

Now let me remind you this is just after watching some videos and this was day 2. Most of those locks I just did what is called "raking" or "rocking" the tumblers, which is basically a really good game of chance.

In light of my discoveries I went and ordered a $20 lock picking kit off of eBay and I will be making a video shortly.

Thanks for reading this and I encourage everyone to go and put some "Bolts" on your doors!
door_bolt_lock.jpg
You know the old fashion cross bolt things that you bolt from the inside, nobody can pick those!

So , I must say that I am very disappointed in the lock industry. They are selling false security. Even the $75 dollar and up locks are not pick proof. Put it this way, if it has a key hole, then the odds are somebody can pick it and if you buy the cheap $15 dollar Walley World lock then you got robbed.

Thanks for reading this. I will include a link to the video when I make it.
You can check me out on YouTube here:
https://www.youtube.com/user/MrEASYFIX
Facebook here:
https://www.facebook.com/MrEasyFix/
and if you are brave enough you can see what really makes me tick by going over to my personal YouTube page here:
http://www.youtube.com/c/MarkPolley

P.s.
That Sentry fire resistant security box
sentry-safe-extemely-pickable-with-a-pen-cap.jpg
you bought to protect your stuff can be picked with a pen cap,
which my daughter did by just messing around!


This kind
bic_pen_holder_blue.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center