Almost nobody is mad about the flute.

People just have podcasts to release that are upset about people being upset about the flute.

Yes, flute upset people exist. But they're almost as rare as the people upset about the little mermaid. They're literally almost that low of numbers. Calm down.

Yeah, sure... It's tasteless.

But nobody really cares more than thinking it's tasteless, and I'm tired of everyone pretending they do.

I'm not offended, but she essentially was engaged in a performance that twenty years ago would have been epitomized by Shakira. Having a different body type doesn't change that.

Personally, I don't feel like only women who have body types I'm more attracted to can be tasteless or crude. I think anybody can be.

I admit, I have seen a fair amount of people usher stuff along the lines of "telling people big is beautiful rather than unhealthy sends the wrong message", as well as stuff that's more nasty and cruel directly about her weight.

I've only seen a very, very small amount of people who cared about the flute bits or were offended that someone would twerk with it like it's a sacred object deserving reverence or whatever.

Her entire thing is being Brittney or Shakira or Aguilera of old, but with some more, you know... weight.

I'm not saying that to put her down or whatever, but that's her thing.

Her thing isn't being technically proficient, but she is and has skills at that. It's just not the appeal she's going for.

This entire line of argument is super weird to me.

Like... "His whole speech lasted an hour. He only compared Jews to rats for a minute of that."

Ok?

I don't care if she twerked, personally. I don't see the flute as some sacred thing.
But the whole thought that "the bad parts were a small part" seems super weird all the same.

Maybe I wouldn't have noticed it either had I watched all of it.

My point was that something being a small portion of a larger thing doesn't inherently mean that smaller portion doesn't matter.

I don't think it matters much either way, but it being a smaller part of a larger production doesn't mean that smaller part don't matter.

Most people didn't care one way or another. Other people are pretending they do, and the amount of people pretending that are far greater than the people who actually care.

Personally, I wouldn't have cared if she used it as a dildo onstage, despite liking Madison and history.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center