This content got low rating by people.

Changing Moods- Aspen, Colorado by: Peter Lik

water 5.jpg

I have often said that a perfectly sunny day can be a real enemy, which is why I am always on the lookout for clouds and moody weather patterns. When I awoke on this day in Colorado and noticed the ominous skies, I quickly gathered my gear and rushed to my location while the landscape maintained its pre-dawn tones of blue and purple. Just as I reached the edge of the lake, an early morning shaft of light broke through just enough to completely highlight this expansive scene – which almost appeared as if two worlds were colliding directly in front of me. The waters lay still enough on this calm, silent morning to perfectly reflect the yellow, green, and brown layers of earth and forestry stacked hundreds of miles high. I set up my camera and opted for a long exposure, giving the sweeping clouds movement and amazing character. As I snapped the shutter, I could feel the crisp, Aspen air against my skin. It is a life-affirming moment that I can still vividly sense each time I gaze at this photograph.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center