Making it look easy?

Another lightpainting in my red and blue series.

I just love simplicity in images. It makes you think about the important things in life.

The images in this serie are made in 1 shot. Easy you might think. Just wave around some light and place two models and you're done.

Well, not so much. Because we only used 1 model and still made this image in 1 shot. No double exposure or digital trickery.

First we set out the scene with lights on so we know the boundries of the shot, the middle and the position for our model. We use a Pixelstick to rotate behind the model to get her silhouette.

But as she moves to the other side for the mirroring effect, it also creates a black canvas for the light to paint on. Lightpainting is about working on a black canvas. Everything that is not totally white can be written upon.

Personally I have a lot of the final image in my mind before I start. Thinking about how the canvas will be filled, what to leave out and where to place some light effects.

I must say it is an addictive way of creating images. It helps you think inside the box ie your camera much more then any other way of photograpy I know. With my love for light it is a natural progression from 'taking' the image to creating images.

Canon 5D IV, single exposure, 1 model, F11, 35 seconds, 65mm on 24-105mm, ISO 100. Pixelstick for light colors.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center