I travel the world #321: How to sleep in Economy like a king

How to secure a row in a plane for yourself

My travel plans sometimes change very quickly. I wanted to go to Bali but I read some comments of 2-3 Hawaians on my blog. I love Hawaii and I try to go there once a year. I checked flight prices and Economy Tickets were 890 USD and Business 3000 USD.

After pulling all airlines flight occupancy seat maps, I realized that the JAL flight from Narita had only 49 seats booked. That was very uncommon, so I decided to burn some of my JAL points andd booked myself a middle seat in a empty row.

You wonder why anybody would book a middle seat, welcome to the world of million milers ;) Imagine you are booking a seat in a plane and there are many aisle and windows seat available where would you seat yourself? Right on aisle or window. If you see that one row were an idiot has booked a middle seat you would avoid that row as someone would be sitting next to you.

That's what I call an empty Cabin

2017-05-29 20.31.59


2017-05-29 21.47.36


2017-05-29 21.48.34


2017-05-29 22.26.30


2017-05-29 22.26.33

So my trick worked out perfectly, I had a whole row for myself and could sleep over night like in business class over the 3 seats. If you try this never book the bulkhead or premium economy as you can't get the armrests up on these seats. (tables and entertainment are in the seatrests in the bulkhead or exit rows). As it worked out, JAL did seat all other passengers into the back and I had a 5 row cabin which is reserved for their Status customers for myself. I slept the whole flight and woke up 45 Minutes before landing.

Ever tried to hack your travel like this ???

I am blogging about the following topics :

I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
Lifehacks (How to save money,etc) 
SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food, Drinks, Gadgets)
Steemperlen (German Version, Series Ended)
SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
COOKED (10 Episodes Cooking Series)
Working anytime, anywhere (New series for freelancers)
Frequent Traveller (New series about Travel Hacks and FFPs) 
HEAVEN (NEW Luxury Travel Magazine)
FARM
German Sausages
GADGET

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center