8 Practical Lessons Learned from Pleasing Everybody

Do you have to please everybody?

Of course, pleasing everybody is a useless, undeniably daunting task. No one can't please everyone and that's a fact because if you do and if you try harder, you might end up depressed and unmotivated. So, stop with the notion that you can do as everybody wants you to do and even do things to make them satisfied while you suffer.


Image Credit: Pexels

I remember this subject in high school as this is my chosen topic for an essay. I also remember that I had to do a lot of corrections and even needed the proofreading skill of an English proficient classmate and friend. It was then that I realized the meaning of taking risks without having to please everyone. With this subject, I also learned that accepting feedbacks, criticisms and even rejections is a must to build a strength of character. It was also on this subject that I learned to build up my esteem and to face negative feedbacks, ridicules, some good people and the not-so-good ones.

Aside from my high school experience, it was when I managed an online agency that I began to experience to read people. After knowing a bit of business psychology and philosophy in college, my learnings on these courses were applied in business management.


Image Credit: Code in Green

From that experience, I learned to face a tremendous foray of negatives and even positives in a pretentious manner. So trusting people seems nil but the trust is in the capabilities, not really on relationship character.

With the experiences I have had in doing some things in which people may find as pleasing acts, this is what all sums up: Business can be politics and that means, you have to play the game to attain objectives and to meet the goals. However, what is important is to uphold the integrity or bring back the credibility lost.

Moreover, channeling optimism should not be ignored. I have dealt with employees, clients, bosses, the strange and terrors and I have resorted to doing a myriad of complaints and have managed to lift myself up from depression. After experiencing many things in my life, it is where I realized that experiencing the good and the bad has made me more capable physically and has matured me emotionally.

Although I can conclude that I have reached the maturity of knowing who to interact with, how to deal with people and when to do the effective move, being in business has me realized that I have to please a person but not necessarily the whole population. And if I deem that person to be valuable and that it would be stupid for me to lose him or her, then I have to be persistent. However, if my impression of him or her does not meet my expectation, then I have to accept the fact that I can't be in business with him or her.


Image Credit: Pexels

However, if I want to build a relationship, then it is where that I am most careful of. I'd like to make friends but I stick with real friends. Real friends provide more value.

I am not a judge of character but if an acquaintance is worth the time, then I'll take the time as pleasure.

Now, with my experiences, there are things that needed summaries from the lessons learned.

  • You can't be a do-gooder all the time. But you can be good all of your life;

  • Being positive is one of the most important allies to face obstacles;

  • In business, choose your target market. In real life and relationships, choose your friends;

  • You can be somebody but you can't become that somebody. In short, you have to be unique even if you are a fan of a superstar.

  • Please if you must, but don't you quit. But again, don't please everybody.

  • Instead of pleasing others too much, take the time to improve yourself and gain the passion that will make your efforts seem effortless. In the end, with the impressive show of talent, people will laud you even if you don't mean to please directly.

  • Humility sires wholesomeness and even friendships;

  • Heroes are born heroes but many of them become part of the heroes' circle when they die. This also goes to the scientists, the writers, the novelists, the painters and many artists.


Image Credit: Pexels

The lessons learned, aside from aforementioned then, is just to be who you are by becoming the person that brings value, by facing the prejudice and by not so much attentive to remarks and recognition (although doing so can boost one's ego and can ignite the motivation to become better).

If you have something to add or if you want to react or give comments, please do so. I appreciate constructive criticisms but tone criticisms in a somewhat pleasing way and not intended to burn bridges.



FOR FURTHER READING

How To Deal With Apathy
Exercise. Meditate. Pray. Give Thanks.
Exhausted? Take A Break and Recharge
The Marriage of Content and Marketing in Blogging
Blogging Success: Fool-Proof Formula That Works
Being Too Lazy To Blog? Please Don’t or Otherwise…



Hey, do you like to support initiatives on community building and enrichment?
Consider casting your witness votes for @ausbitbank, @cloh76.witness, @curie, @precise, @steemgigs, @therealwolf, @patrice, @jrswab and @cloh76.witness.


To cast your votes, just go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center