Do you, or any of your family, suffer from any long term/life limiting illness? Great website!

Do you, or any of your family, suffer from any long term/life limiting illness?

enter image description here

Heads Up

Do you want to know the best resource for helping you through?

My condition is ALS. Diagnosed this year my life expectancy is 2 years. Up until stumbling upon this great website I have spent hours and hours trying to establish what medications or supplements might help my condition and trying to evaluate proven and anecdotal evidence.

I have found my best resource and my share is:

PatientsLikeMe(www.patientslikeme.com)

PatientsLikeMe (PLM) is a worldwide website resource where people undergoing a huge range of medical conditions can:

  • Monitor their own and their cohorts emotional and physical wellbeing
  • Gain insight into medications and supplements used by cohorts and
    their effectiveness
  • Share medical histories
  • Find out about breaking research and clinical trials Gain emotional
    support and friendship
  • Forums for discussion and support
  • Currently sharing the records of some 500,000 patients worldwide

PLM appears to have all the information I seek in one place. The searchable case histories draw from a huge range of illnesses. I can easily connect with patients like me to:

  • Find out what prescribed medicines, self medications or supplements
    are helping cohorts
  • Partner with researchers, doctors, and companies to widen the
    understanding of my disease
  • Help put patients at the centre of treatment

The website has encouraged me to enter the details of my ongoing emotional and physical wellbeing so that I can track it and likewise I can track others and they can track me. This has given me a great sense of control and understanding, and best of all I can see that many sufferers of my condition have good quality of life and are surviving much longer than their prognosis.

Dear Steemite. You likely have someone near and dear who would benefit as I do from this great resource.

Please e-mail them the message you are reading - Right Now

Then give me some love :-)


Below is a list of the main conditions covered

Cancer
Breast Lung Liver Testicular Prostate Pancreatic CLL (Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia) Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma Thyroid
Developmental and Chromosomal
Tay-Sachs Autism Spectrum Down Syndrome
Digestive and Intestinal
Crohn's Disease IBS Ulcerative Colitis
Endocrine
Diabetes: Type I Type II Hypothyroidism Hyperthyroidism
Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat
Hearing Loss Glaucoma Macular Degeneration
Heart, Blood and Circulatory
Coronary Artery Disease Hypertension Iron Deficiency Anemia Raynaud's Syndrome Congestive Heart Failure Cardiomyopathy Aplastic Anemia
Immune, Inflammatory and Infections
Rheumatoid Arthritis Lupus HIV Lyme Disease AIDS
Kidneys and Urinary
Polycystic Kidney Disease Chronic Kidney Disease Interstitial Cystitis
Liver, Pancreas and Gallbladder
Hepatitis C Pancreatitis Polycystic Liver Disease
Lungs and Respiratory
Pulmonary Fibrosis Asthma COPD Cystic Fibrosis Emphysema Pulmonary Hypertension
Men's Health
Infertility Erectile Dysfunction Benign Prostatic Hypertrophy
Mental Health and Behavior
Depression Bipolar I Bipolar II Social Anxiety ADHD/ADD Dysthymia Generalized Anxiety Disorder Panic Disorder Eating Disorder OCD Phobia PTSD Schizophrenia Drug Addiction Tobacco Addiction Alcohol Addiction
Metabolism and Nutrition
Hypercholesterolemia Hemochromatosis Obesity
Muscle, Bone and Joint
Fibromyalgia OA Osteoporosis TMJ Muscular Dystrophy
Neurological and Brain
ALS MS PD Epilepsy RLS CFS MSA NMO PLS PSP CBD Stroke Migraine
Skin, Hair and Nails
Psoriasis Eczema Rosacea
Transplants
Heart Transplant Kidney Transplant Liver Transplant Lung Transplant Pancreas Transplant
Women's Health and Pregnancy
Infertility Endometriosis Menopause PCOS Postpartum Depression

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center