Hurricane Ian Giving Me PTSD, And I Am Not Even In Florida Anymore

dudevideos.jpeg

Hurricane season always gives me a bit of PTSD, even though I don't even live in Florida anymore, lol. We do still have a family house in the Florida Keys, so I am always keeping a lookout on the weather. So far so good at the house from what I hear, just some strong rains.

Losing everything to one of these storms will get you in an itchy mood even when you are watching it from afar. It's been just over 5 years since Irma, which is crazy to think about, but I still get anxious.

PTSD From Hurricanes

Hurricanes give me a bit of PTSD. Even though the house is still standing, it's been pretty much gutted to the studs and rebuilt after Hurricane Irma kicked me out of Florida back in 2017. I was extremely grateful that I was able to get out.

Twenty and a half hours it took to get from Marathon, FL to Birmingham, AL, and that was with stopping only 3 times. My dog, Chip, sat in the front seat of my old, no longer with me, Oldsmobile Alero and took the ride like a champ. He knew we were in a bad situation and kept me calm the whole time because lord knows, traffic was HELL!

When I Knew The Government Was A Joke

Anyway, that began my new life in so many different ways. I was working for Apple at the time and they gave me a limited number of days to get settled somewhere before they wanted me back working. It was really kind of a joke honestly, but it is what it is at this point.

But really, this was when I had the harsh realization that the government is a complete joke. I got denied for any FEMA or other federal assistance and had to go into personal debt, which I am still paying off, lol. I had ZERO debt before that. Yeah, it's been a crazy ride. That's a whole story in itself, which includes my sister's ex scamming the government and getting my money, while he was nowhere near the house! Because if he were to ever come around while I was there, he would have been shark food, and he knew that. Needless to say I want him off the planet, lol.

But I digress... Oh yeah, and the Department of Homeland Security who was working the case, well let's just say he pissed me off too, along with the government for letting him work the case while sitting in St. Thomas and the fucker was loose in Alabama. I knew where he was and had friends that were willing to help me... LOL... But no, I told them to back off because the feds were supposed to be on it, lol. Yeah right. The fucker is still living with his mom in Alabama. Sorry, just had to at least throw that bit of back story...

Finding Bitcoin and The Nomadic Lifestyle

Around this time, after being bent over by the government and taking a fat one from Uncle Sam, I realized how big of a joke they really are and how they are not on your side. Around this time was when I started to research the van life because I was having to couch surf across like 3 different states, which sucked. Finally got settled in Oregon for a while, found my van and the rest is history.

While I was in this transition is when I found Bitcoin. I had heard about it years before, my buddy was an early miner, so I had a basic understanding, but had never really gone down the rabbit hole. Well, with as pissed off and disenfranchised with the US government especially after the Barak Dronebomber years, and then the whole 2016 election nonsense, I dove down the rabbit hole of crypto. Went full on home miner, got in early on some DEFI action, and then found my way to STEEM now Hive.

Was It All Bad?

Sometimes you have to look at an event like that in your life and wonder if you were just supposed to go though that. You can do the whole poor, pitiful me thing, but how far is that going to get you? For me, it was a double edge sword. The year before my ex and kids had moved out to Oregon, so I felt all alone, and the friends I did have in Florida were all drunks or other types of addicts so that wasn't very good for me to be around for sure. So it could have been a way to just get my ass into a new lifestyle and out of a place that I didn't need to be at that time.

It also purged me of a bunch of material crap that I had been carrying around for years. From place to place, state to state, I had been hauling the same stuff around, and just picking up more and more along the way. So I have the hurricane to thank for making me the minimalist that I am today. I honestly couldn't be happier. But the things I have, I own, so there's that, lol. I still win Klaus, lol.

I learned what was truly important in life, as I am still working on that lesson everyday, it was a rude awakening that I was really just worrying about the wrong things and going in the wrong path. I still question my path everyday, lol, especially in these markets and after the UST collapse, lol. But hey, could be much worse, haha. It's all in your perspective.

But watching hurricanes heading toward my family's house, and all of my friends in South Florida still makes me incredibly nervous. Not like I can do anything, but still, anxiety is a bitch sometimes, but hey, that's why there is weed, lol.

Until next time everyone...

Be Cool, Be Real, and always Abide!

Support The Logical DAO

If you want to support the efforts of The Logical Dude and his projects that come out of The Logical Labs, you can support by purchasing a special NFT directly from the site using pHBD on Polygon! These funds are used to fuel the income engine in The Logical DAO

https://thelogicaldude.com/nfts
https://thelogicaldude.com/dao

The Logical Labs Projects

https://hivelist.io - Classifieds, NFTs, DEFI Pool, Online Retail
https://HiveHustlers.com - Community for Entrepreneurs and All Around Hustlers
https://coin-logic.com - Live crypto market data, news, and research
https://blocktunes.net - Music NFTs, DAO, Downloads, and more
https://groovelogic.audio - DJ/Producer/Sound Engineer music and services
https://weedcash.org - The Highest Form of Social Media

Video Channels

View my channel on 3speak.tv! Video platfrom for a free speech society!
https://3speak.tv/user/thelogicaldude

But if you must... here is the YouTube channel link:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtGApfTp4ZzLHksDdImJ9JA

Other Ways To Support

If you like what I am doing, please consider voting for my Hive Engine witness with your staked WORKERBEE!

https://tribaldex.com/witnesses

Get started playing Splinterlands, the top blockchain game in the world, today!
https://splinterlands.com?ref=thelogicaldude

thelogicaldudeprojects.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center