Sometimes, You Just Have To Make People Listen To You.

 Sometimes you wonder why you don't get what you ask for; you probably asked for it too nicely. Here is a funny story to read and enjoy the bright side of it. 

image credit: Pixabay

When I was younger, many things did not make much sense to me. School definitely did not make a lot of sense to me. I had absolutely no desire to be at the school, and I had no interest whatsoever in what they were teaching. I would tell the teacher that I wanted to go home, and I would ask her, very politely, if it was OK for me to leave. But she would always say no. Then I would knock my books on the floor and throw my pencils across the room. At that point, she would say, "Go to the office! I'm calling your parents! You're going home!"

And when I returned to school a few days later, the teacher would tell me that I could not go home. And so I would knock my books on the floor, again, and she could not wait to send me home for bad behavior. (I didn't like throwing things across the room, but it was always the thing that helped me leave school) And when they tried to explain to me the importance of why I should go to school, I thought they were being completely irrational. 

Adults: You have to stay in school.

Me: I don't understand what you people want from me. Why do I have to stay in school?

Adults: So you can graduate and get out of school. Don't you want to get out of school?

Me: That's what I've been trying to tell you; I wanna get the hell out of school. That's why I keep trying to go home, because I don't want to spend another day at the school.

Adults: Don't you want to be somebody important?

Me: I'm already important. Not only am I important, but my mama said I'm precious, too. If I didn't really matter, then I'm sure you people would leave me alone. So I must be very important. 

Adults: Stay in school, get an education, and one day you could have a business and be successful. Don't you want to have a job someday?

Me: No! Not at all. I wanna have fun. I don't ever wanna work a day in my life.

image credit: Pixabay

And I was also told that if I have good behavior and listen to my parents, then I will have a good life, and I would even live to become old, responsible and reliable. 

I would watch the news and hear stories about children being murdered; I would turn on the television and see children starving to death, and I would ask what caused those children to suffer and die. I would ask, "Is it because they were bad? Did they die because they didn't want to listen to their parents?" And I was told that sometimes children suffer and die because life isn't fair - that's just the way it is. 

I was taught that people like Martin Luther King, Jr. and Abraham Lincoln were killed for being good men. And I was convinced that I could die young, whether I do good or bad, and whether I like it or not. Then I realized no one can really promise that I will have a good life.

image credit: Pixabay

 I realized that, in this life, I just have to do whatever it takes, even if I must do the bad things, in order to live the kind of life that I want to live. And I saw no reason for me to always be a good boy. 

When I attempted to be good, and asked very politely if I could go home, the teacher treated me as if I had done something wrong, and she denied my request to leave the school. But when I threw books and pencils across the classroom, that's when I got exactly what I wanted. Many things in life made me convinced that, sometimes, it's necessary to do bad things. (Not literally) 

Sometimes you need to speak up

Sometimes you need to ask questions

Sometimes you need to protest and make people listen to you.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center