To see, or not to see

I've learnt a big lesson a while ago.

I never handled compliments well. If someone said, "you look nice today", I would answer "thanks, but my hair needs a cut". Or something to that effect.

I have a friend who is going bald, the doctors don't know why she is losing her hair, but she has a few bald spots. So she wears hats, and she wears them with great panache. But every time she is with people, she takes off her hat, points to her bald spots, and say "look, I'm going bald!"

We don't want to focus people's attention on our worst problems. Yet we do. Why?

I've been thinking about it, and realize that although I don't have the answer to this question, one can learn not to do it. It is possible.

Today we went and bought my eldest granddaughter school clothes. Here in South Africa, we only have primary schools (from Grade 1 to Grade 7), and high schools (from Grade 8 to Grade 12). She's going to high school, and will be in Grade 8 when our schools open again next week.

South African schools also have their own uniforms.

The badge that must come on the blazer's pocket is the new sort that can be ironed on. So I thought I'd do her mother a favour and iron it on for her. And of course, I put it down nice and straight, but it came out a tiny bit skew.

In the past I would have told my daughter "sorry, the badge is a tiny bit skew". Now I won't say a word. Because I know, if I do, all she'll see for the next 5 years, will be the "tiny-bit-skew" badge on that pocket.

IMG_4784.JPG

It's a beautiful dark blue blazer, and my granddaughter is going to look stunning in her new school uniform. And I shall forget about the "tiny-bit-skew" badge from this moment on.

Pinky promise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center