Welp, that's a big old universal life fail.

Recently someone I know signed me up for an email list designed to be inspiring, I guess.

It's a service called "The Universe".

It sends you random emails at random times, claiming to be from "the universe", and they are designed to be encouraging and to give you messages that I think they intended to for you to contemplate in some sort of positive and uplifting way.

I wonder if "the universe" realizes just how hurtful it can be sometimes.

The last one I got looked like this.

In case you didn't know, you couldn't tell, or you haven't heard...

If you're reading this right now on a phone or computer, Corky, you're rich.

If you have somewhere to go today, you're connected.

And if there is anyone, anywhere, who for any reason knows where you are at this moment, you’re loved.

Dang, you just keep acing time and space.

Big time,
The Universe

Well, I do have a phone, and a computer, so there's that.

But I don't have anywhere to go today.

Or any day really. I honestly do not. I live alone, I have no significant remaining family. I live in a remote, rural area and I do not have any local friends or acquaintances outside of a couple of business relationships around the small town I inhabit. I'm divorced, my child is grown and due to circumstances over time, she and I are not really in touch, and only see each other once a year or even less, and then usually only for a few hours at best.

So the second part, anyone, anywhere, who knows where I am?

Well maybe one person does, and that's a person who broke my heart and suggesting that at this moment I am loved because they know where I am? Is just as far from the truth as it can possibly be.

I know this kind of post is likely to solicit all sorts of "but we love you!" comments because that's what people do.

But honestly, as much as I love all of my friends on the blockchain here, the truth is, if I left, most of those friendships would flicker and fade away as such things do, like former co-workers or school mates or neighbors long ago left behind by time, distance and lost connection or the discontinuation of the shared experiences that brought you together in the first place.

So, yeah, universe, you can suck it today.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now