ChillQuill's Favorite Elvis Songs

Growing up, my Dad, @quillfire, would make me listen to "his music," especially songs with particularly beautiful lyrics. Once or twice a week, we would go down to the ice cream shop after school and he'd choose songs on the shop's old time Juke Box. Over the years, I came to love them. In fact, I can now identify Oldies far faster and more accurately than he can. Some of my friends make fun of me because of my love of Old People music but I couldn't care less.

One of my favorite Old Time musicians is Elvis.

Here's my three favorite Elvis songs (in no particular order): 

My Way was made famous by Frank Sinatra but I actually like Elvis' version better. The lyrics were written by Paul Anka after hearing a French song called, "Comme D'habitude," in a bar. Anka, Sinatra's friend, believed the song would be perfect for Sinatra and convinced him to perform it.   


Suspicious Minds: Notice Elvis' shaking leg, what would become one of his signature moves. When Elvis first started performing, he was so nervous on stage that his legs would quake. And so, to cover up his trembling, he exaggerated the movement in an effort to make it look like he was doing it on purpose. His nerves were amplified when music executives advised him to keep his job as a delivery truck driver ... "Because you can't harmonize."  


Always On My Mind. Guys have a way of devastating girls emotionally. When I listen to this, I'm wrecked.


OK, I couldn't leave this one out, so we'll call it a bonus. American Idol used holographic technology to recreate an Elvis performance and then used it to create a "duet" with Celine Deon. Incredible. 


Do you agree with my choices or do your prefer other Elvis songs? I'd love to hear from you in the comments section. 


ChillQuill 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center