An ongoing conversation with Stan Lee and a request for help

I have known this man since I was 7 years old.

I met him & his wife for the first time at his LA home and I remember being pretty excited about this. Naturally I was a big fan of his characters! His nearest neighbour was Madonna and I remember being pretty excited about that too.

Little did I know but I would eventually get to hang out with Madonna on the set of Snatch, a film I worked on during my London days.
This is my imdb profile.

My father & Stan were friends because they served alongside each other in the Philippines during WW2.

After the war they went their separate ways but always remained close. He famously once said of my father "Yep, any time my ego needs deflating I remember how I was too smart to leave comic books and go into business with ol' Harry."

Dad offered him a business partnership in the Philippines but Stan felt sure his comic book characters had a future.

It turned out they both went on to be very successful in their chosen fields but unlike Stan, my father was betrayed by his country and after a 30 year court case he died penniless. You can learn more about what happened here: https://steemit.com/conspiracy/@samstonehill/my-amazing-father-was-born-100-years-ago-today-a-story-of-us-corruption-and-betrayal

If you are in any doubt about the truth of my words, I have included a small section of an article written for Forbes by a tax expert who was investigating my father's case.

Screen Shot 2017-11-16 at 20.45.50.png
source


sexy banner.png

At my father's funeral 15 years ago Stan's words were unquestionably the most helpful for me in coming to terms with his death and we have been in communication since then.

Looking through our emails today I laughed at some of the exchanges we have had.

In 2009 I asked him for a job in Hollywood and this was his response:


Hi, Sam,

Nice hearing from you.

To answer your question, things are going okay for me. I'm busier than I've ever been, and that's the way I like it. (I'm even writing this note between meetings because it's the only chance I'll have).

Regarding your desire to work in the U.S., I don't know what to tell you. My company Pow! Entertainment isn’t really a production company. I myself don't need an assistant because all I do is write ideas for movies, TV, etc. and then try to sell them. I have a partner who has been in the business for years and who advises me about contracts etc. So all that I really need is the time to keep writing.

I’m not personally familiar with such things, but perhaps on the Internet there may be sites devoted to job opportunities for people in the movie industry. In fact, I’d be surprised if such sites don’t exist. You might try looking for one.

Uh oh, my other meeting is scheduled to start. Gotta go now. All I can advise is keep plugging. Opportunities always pop up when you least expect them—just be ready to grab one.

All the best,

Stan


In 2012 I sent him a long and excited email about my spiritual awakening which was going on at the time.

This was his response:


Good luck to you, Sam, but I haven't time for such messages.

All best,

Stan


Oh dear! Probably shouldn't have sent him that one! Hoping he has forgotten all about it by now...

Last week I sent him a request for help in the making of the film which will tell the story of his old friend's life:


Dear Stan

I hope this email finds you well. It has been a while since our last communication.

Since 2013 I have been travelling the world and I now have a family of my own.

We are currently based in Bali where in September we celebrated dad's 100th birthday and I was reminded of my desire to make a film about the story of his life.

Since then I have teamed up with a producer and together we are planning to first publish his life story through a website called Steemit to build awareness before producing a film.

I am wondering Stan if you would like to be involved in this production in some way?

Your words at his funeral will never leave me and I know you have an insight to a part of his life which none of us were there for.

Perhaps you might be interested in taking an advisory role? Your experience, your connections and the power of your name will help us no end in achieving our goal.

I recently published an overview of his life in a place where it can never be removed. I did this because many of the online articles referring to his case are mysteriously disappearing, leaving a very unbalanced perspective of the man you and I knew him to be.

You can see my article here: https://steemit.com/conspiracy/@samstonehill/my-amazing-father-was-born-100-years-ago-today-a-story-of-us-corruption-and-betrayal

I think you will be most interested in the last section of the article which was written by Harry himself. It is the preface to his unpublished autobiography.

These words are particularly poignant and serve as a great reminder to us that an injustice has been done and it is up to those of us who knew him to set the record straight.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best wishes

Sam


I am yet to hear back from him, but I will be sure to tell you when I do.

Fingers crossed he is willing to attach his name to this project which will make it a whole bunch easier raising the money we need to produce the film.

Signed items for sale!

I have a Hulk comic book & small poster (an A4 version of the image at the top) which he signed for me a long time ago and they are now just collecting dust in my mother's attic.

Would any of you be interested in buying these items??? I will be going back to the UK next year and would be happy to dig them out for someone willing to give them the love they deserve.

sexy banner.png

FED17-Stanlee-banner-1.png

source

thumbnail image source

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world.

Currently based in Bali he travels with his partner & two children. With no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over six months.

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

@samstonehill is the creator of:

@steemshop account where you can buy or sell anything you like using your steemit wallet SEE MORE

@steemmasters which provides FREE TUTORIALS, personal training & resteeming services. Website HERE
Contact me directly on steemit.chat if you want to know more about this

@steemholidays which encourages resort owners to offer holiday packages in Steem or SBD

@steemtv which aims to provide the best in decentralised films, exclusive to Steemit & DTube

The dailyquotes tag initiative designed to encourage steemians to share their most life changing quotes with the community on a daily basis.

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Screen Shot 2017-10-04 at 11.37.29.png

I receive the equivalent of $3 a day using Genesis Mining

This was after investing around $500 (from STEEM payouts) into 2 year contracts, mining Dash, Ether & Litecoin

Use my referral code to get a 3% discount: wzrAS4

Some say it is a scam but I have found no reason to believe this.


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE


Please check out the @charitysteemit account where those of us in Bali are currently raising money to buy solar power & water filters for the huge number of evacuees waiting for a volcano to blow LEARN MORE HERE

Screen Shot 2017-11-05 at 17.13.28.png

sexy banner.png

sexy card.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now