The small story about Tiger Woods (lesson on dealing with setbacks)


There is this story about Tiger Woods - and gosh I'm not even sure if it is true or not. "Screw it," I thought, I share it anyways. Because it inspired me, and sometimes stories are just nice to listen too... :)

SO... When Tiger Woods, one of the - if not THE - greatest golf-player of all times, was already winning and rising as a star, he decided to change his coach.

Why? Because he noticed to have arrived at a plateau. He wanted to get better, mentally stronger, develop his skills - and for that he decided to shake things up.

The new coach taught him a different technique to hit the ball. They trained differently and Tiger started losing - or better; stopped winning.

That went on for months and the press already titled him to be a lost star. A wiped out fire. A wonder of the moment.

Yet after a few months, the new training gradually grabbed hold in his development. He improved - fast.

And before he knew, he was at the top again. Better, stronger than ever before and seemingly invincible.

I heard this story a couple years ago. I'm not a golfer. Neither am I absolutely sure about the details of the story. Yet what stuck with me was a recognition which I often observe in my life too...

Sometimes, when we want to improve and learn something new, often we have to take a step back. In order to make two or three steps forward.

I'm not even entirely sure if the story is true or not; but it somehow popped up today and often the believe alone helps me to be okay with "setbacks". And when I'm okay with them, I may be able to focus a bit more on what matters.

Wishing you a great rest of the week.

Sam



This post is originally published on my blog: samryter.com/blog
I, Sam Ryter (@sams-world) am the author and creator of this piece of content.
(Copyright @sams-world, samryter.com)

Thank you for reading :)


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://samryter.com/the-small-story-about-tiger-woods/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now