A Little Family History

A Little Family History

IMG-0442.jpg
As you know, I am living in South Africa, but my mother was born in the Netherlands. She is turning 79 in January. My grandparents and their 5 x kids emigrated to South Africa in 1954, when my grandfather was 39 years old. The photo at the top is of my mother and my 4 uncles as kids. (I guess she is about 5 years old on the photo) The photo below is of the entire family embarking on the ship, with which they traveled to South Africa. What is interesting of today's technology is that we now communicate with my mother's cousins in the Netherlands on a regular basis, mainly through Facebook. This is also how I obtained the photos, as this was taken by somebody in the Netherlands, and they shared it on Facebook. My mother is the girl standing the third from the top. On this photo she is about 15 years old.

IMG-0443.jpg](https://postimg.cc/w7KbrXTq)

Technology really brings us closer to people all over the world, and because of this, I could also obtain these priceless photos of my grand parents, uncles and mother.

I have no idea who took the photos, but the were taken in the Netherlands, most probably, by one of my mother's uncles.

I hope you enjoyed my post.

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center