All That Beauty and a Broken Camera


hive post cover pic broken camera.jpg

Just My Luck...

...I move to one of the most beautiful places on this planet and my camera breaks. I have no idea what happened to it but I know it can't be fixed with a hard reset or a good cleaning or any of the normal things one does when a digital camera gets glitchy. It's just done for, and I'm not sure I want to even bother taking it anywhere in hopes of repair.

It started with the camera randomly requiring me to turn it off and then on again, progressed to its failure to reliably record video, then to a jitter that's present even when the camera is on a tripod. I tried to stabilize the footage but the jitter is just too extreme. Then, last week on what was likely its final outing for nature pics, it refused to focus and I could not control aperture or shutter speed by any method. The result was blurry, overexposed video and a picture that jumped around all over the frame. So I give up. Looks like I'll be using the camera on my phone for a while, until @michelios and I can cobble together enough spare change to buy a drone.

At any rate, I got a last few decent still shots with it on the land Michel is buying in Esperanza, and I'll share the bits and scraps of video I was able to salvage from the expedition. We are under contract for this property, the survey is done, and money is in transition. We are well on our way to owning a piece of paradise, and I could not be happier.

What's Happened Since When

We've met several of the neighbors now and they all seem to be like-minded people with similar experiences and interests. We've begun to tackle some of the engineering complications that come part and parcel with owning raw land in rainforest country and so far, though everything is still in the planning stages, we seem to be getting all "yes" answers from contractors, neighboring land owners, and attorneys. Don't misunderstand; we're not blind to the challenges we will face. We didn't choose this property because it was "easy" or "convenient." We chose it because of its long-term potential in an unstable world and know full well that it will take years of problem-solving before we can finally relax and just enjoy it.


Atirro River 2.jpg

The original 20+-acre parcel that our hectare has been surveyed off from is immediately adjacent to the Atirro River. So while we won't own riverfront property, public access to the river is within easy walking distance, even for crippled-up me. I found out yesterday that another neighbor owns waterfalls on the mountain that frames our valley and tours are available. How exciting! Then, I learned that the stream forming the north boundary of our land originates from a spring on the mountain immediately above us, which means 1) it is source-pure, and 2) has enough natural fall to give us all the water pressure we need to keep irrigation and drinking water tanks full without need of an electric pump.


cecropia tree.jpg

We still have some concerns about the bridge spanning the Atirro River. The bridge is one lane and looks scary, but it's supported underneath by concrete pillars and steel beams. Trucks filled with loads of sugarcane cross it every day, as well as utility vehicles and farm equipment for the coffee plantation. What do you think? Would you drive a 14-meter bus across this little bridge? How brave am I? We will find out soon, I suppose.


Atirro River Bridge.jpg

So Much Green

The one thing that consistently pleases and thrills me about this land is the abundance and diversity of plants that grow naturally here. From banana trees to bromeliads to fringed palms volunteering by the stream, there's just no end to the surprises held by the earth in Esperanza.


blooming plant with large leaves.jpg

Bromeliads thrive in the climate of what will soon be Michel's and my new home. These are interesting plants that have evolved to store water and moisture in the folds of their rosette leaf bases, and many of them bloom with vibrant colors of red and orange. It isn't necessary for bromeliads to grow in contact with the ground, although they do equally well in soil as they do in trees. Their root systems are not damaging to their host trees and these beautiful plants provide a habitat for many species of insects and invertebrates. Pineapple is a bromeliad, and although it does require contact with the ground to produce large fruit, it can also take root in a tree. I hope to grow pinepple in abundance, as it has always been one of my favorite foods.


red bromeliad.jpg

Imagine my surprise the other day when I stumbled across wild lantana blooming in what will someday be my front yard! Lantana has always been a favorite of mine, whether bought as a cultivar or plucked as a seedling from the beaches of Pensacola, Florida, where I spent most of my childhood summers. This lantana is not dilute like the lantana I loved in Florida, but comes in bright hues of red, yellow, and orange. It's safe to say that the lantana in this photo will be safe from all harm, tended, and loved by me for years to come.


lantana.jpg

To see the bit of video I managed to get during our last outing with the camera, click the link below. You'll also get to see the stream that flows off the mountain into the Atirro River, some really breathtaking scenery, and all six of our doggos, including the two we brought from Morocco.

Pura Vida!

facebook icon.png
twitter icon.png
instagram icon.png
youtube icon.png
Amazon author page.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center