Is working in a supermarket satisfying...?

I was rather surprise to find a couple of responses to a Reddit Thread for 'what are some easy, stress free jobs'..? to suggest that working in a supermarket was a good idea...

They cited the fact that most colleagues were decent and most of the customers were OK to chat to as well, and if you got shelf-stacking duties then you could just listen to audio books all day!

Screenshot 2024-10-20 at 12.53.29.png

The only downside mentioned was the 'lack of status', but honestly who gives a toss.

NB what I am thinking about here are post-career easy jobs where you can just rock up 2-3 days a week and get paid without making too much effort!

And fair play I get it, supermarkets do seem to fit that bill.

But low job satisfaction...?

I looked through a fairly hench piece of research which ranked 300 jobs by happiness, and the nearest I could find was shelf-stackers, near the bottom end! And quite near delivery drivers which is a crap job, for sure!

Screenshot 2024-10-20 at 12.58.23.png

Not encouraging!

And it varies by supermarket!

The Grocery Gazette (that's one for Have I Got News For You!) reports considerable variation in worker satisfaction depending on supermarket....

Screenshot 2024-10-20 at 13.03.02.png

And those satisfaction ratings in the 60s for the main part are not encouraging, you'd really want high 70s to 80s for this.

I guess the problem with the job is that it is what it is, a job, you're never going to 'see yourself' in it, unless you rise up the ranks and become a regional manager or something, and that would just be TOTALLY depressing!

Final thoughts.... could I work in a supermarket...?

Hmmm, I did work in an ASDA warehouse for a few days when I was a student, it was punishing and I didn't have much to talk about with the staff, and then if you are front of house these days there's a good chance you'll get put on the self-checkouts, that's a thankless looking job, especially judging by the two lads who were doing that in Tesco this morning, they looked like they were competing with each other for who could look the most bored.

So for me, I get that this isn't particularly stressful, but I think I'll skip this particular job, it's not for me!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center