The way of the procrastinator


Hello my fellow Steemians I owe you an apology for not being present and engaged. It seems that the most important lessons I have ever learned first totally derail my life and through picking up the pieces I learn something valuable. Hence the title of this post: Procrastinator.

I feel like there should be a 12 step program dealing with procrastination because it is as real an addiction, and as disabling, as any of the other outward addictions.

Tim Urban at https://waitbutwhy.com/2015/03/procrastination-matrix.html gives a great series of posts on procrastination and unfortunately my brain never got past this high school stage...

Actually it is worse. Because I am not addicted to anything, but rather just not doing something until a later date. I have lost control of my ability to keep my word to myself about doing my best work...instead I do the bare minimum necessary to complete a project by the due date. Despite the best advice from well-meaning friends and credentialed experts, nothing changes my behavior. Why? because their advice is written for sane people.
so pretty and so easy right? WRONG!!

I am not sane...I am a procrastinator! There. I have admitted my addiction to the whole world (theoretically) and now am ready to go to step number 2.

Truth (step) number 2: I will always be addicted to procrastination. Once an addict always an addict right? While that sounds bleak there is actually a great deal of hope embedded in that statement because ...addiction can be successfully managed. That is why 12-step programs actually work, not by getting rid of the addiction but by managing the addictive behavior.

First order of business is to have a support network that holds me accountable and in this I am turning to my followers and fellow Steemians to help me manage this addiction by holding me accountable to write consistently. I need to engage and be part of a productive group.

Usually I post about being present minded and ways to be peaceful... just wanted to share that even when a person is trying hard to be centered life still happens and knocks us for a loop. The key is getting back up one more time then you get knocked down and trying again.

I am launching a book on Kindle the 13th of December and around the first of Dec. I will be sending out copies to those who would like to act as reviewers. The working title is going to be "A life without Limits: How to have peace, prosperity and abundant living in the present moment." If that sounds interesting comment and I will put you on the list.

Thanks for reading:-)

namaste

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center