Is Steemit really what they claim it is? :/

I was excited the first time I learned about Steemit. It seamed to be just perfect!

I started curating content and getting new followers and finally last week I posted my first post.

Unfortunately, as a Portuguese of the area where the wildfires of last month, the most important subject for me to write about was the loss of my parents house, of which I posted photos and a small explanation of what happened. You can find it here:

https://steemit.com/life/@prc/portugal-giant-fires-my-parents-house-turned-to-ashes

antes-depois.jpg

I wasn't expecting to become a millionaire, but I was actually expecting that people would read my post, and possibly contribute with something, even just an up vote... I would do that for sure if I would see a post like mine.

The accounting in 5 days was: 6 views and 3 up votes... and a fantastic $0.04 in value of the post.

Is this what I should expect from this community?

What is the difference from Facebook?

At least on Facebook I had more views and friends came saying some words of hope...

Maybe I was expecting too much... :/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now