Letting go after you've moved into a new home

thumbnail_fire-damage11.jpg

We've all been there...The new car you wash every week and wipe down with a clean sham-wow, inspecting every square inch for dents and scratches, until the inevitable happens. That first scratch, then tears. It's a sad day, but if you're lucky, you realize it's only a car, and it will be the first blemish of many to come.

This story is not unique to a new vehicle. How bout those new boots when you skuff the toes, or pair of clean sneakers that takes that first step into a muddy puddle? Unscratched sunglasses? The pair of jeans with the holes in the thighs that you thought was a cool purchase, until you put your whole foot through one. You see where I'm going with this.

boot.jpg

Nothing you own will ever take more abuse than your home! A new home even more so, because well, its new! Everything is fresh and clean, unscratched, shiny, no mystery odors...yet.

When my wife and I moved into our home it was not nearly finished, but the paint was more or less dry and the hardwood floors sanded and sealed. The day we actually started moving boxes in and decided would be our first night of residency, the floors had been drying for only about 2-3 days. Somehow in the shuffle, dirty totes were slid across one room in its entirety. My father who helped me install the floor, nearly cried, I couldn't blame him. It was unfortunate and I was upset, but what are you going to do? A few weeks later I sealed the floor again. This was just the first abuse in a long list since that day! Compared to today, I would love to have those minute scratches again!

Anyone who has small children or pets, knows the struggle is real. The damage the dog has done to the floors and the cat to the couch is cringe worthy. The kids with the spills, hand prints on the walls, broken window grilles and booger collages all aid in the cosmetic rearrangement of any home.

Years and years ago I dropped a chunk of wood on my parents front door threshold, leaving a good dent. Thinking my mom would be upset watching it happen, she only said, "a house is made to be lived in". That's something I've carried with me for some time now. However, after moving into our new home I'd get a little agitated whenever something became damaged or needed attention. I'd say "this is a new house, I'd like it to stay looking that way!". Since having kids I think I've mellowed out a bit. If I maintained the same mindset these days I'd have a new can of paint out every weekend and spend all my free time repairing and cleaning.

thumbnail_3622-Ext1.jpg

The point is that a house IS made to be lived in and most of us don't live in a museum. Nothing is ever that bad that it can't be cleaned up, sanded down or repainted. Learn to LET IT GO! If you have kids that like Disney's Frozen, you should be smiling! I bring all of this up because if you're living in a new home or planning on building one in the future you may go through similar mental anxiety when you see the first scratches and dents show up in your new investment. It's bound to happen. Breath in and remember that will all be okay. Unfortunately there's not much you can do to get around it, sad I know.

In the long run understanding that a house will show wear, even under the most careful watch will make you a happier homeowner. Besides learning to let the little things go, you will spend far less time chasing repairs and you can enjoy doing what really matters. If you have kids you'll be able to spend more quality time with them and not try to micromanage their every move thinking it will lead to property damage. Kids and pets or not, you'll also be able to enjoy the castle you've made and call your home. Sit back and enjoy it once in awhile!

As for me, I've loosened up a bit and let it all come as it may. I do the repairs as needed but I try not to loose sleep over it. However, the cat and I still aren't seeing eye to eye....that's just how it goes I suppose.

I hope this was helpful, if not maybe you got a smile out of some if it!

Good luck!
Casey

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center