What My Father Told Me #15: Live Politically

IMG_20180603_102204.jpg

Chief Friday Onyema is my dad.
The very first chief in my community and a renown leader. He served his people right, resolving their boundary issues with neighbouring villages, overseeing peace keeping missions and ensured peaceful coexistence in my hometown.


Growing up, I discovered my dad live with no permanent friends. He was open and friendly to everyone but never stuck to any nor had any as his best friend whatsoever.

At some point when I was a kid, dad fought against the way I was keeping friends. He tried all he could to stop me from keeping friends. He was OK with acquitances, but not with keeping friends. He sounded like its evil or risky. I really didn't understand why he did that. At some point I thought he hated me.

One day, I got upset over the whole situation and I had to sit with dad for a few minutes to question him. I needed the truth. I needed to know why he wanted me to live his kinda life of no permanent friends.

This was what he had to say.

"The world knows nothing but change. The people are as such liable to change. Having permanent friends or getting too emotionally attached to people is same as opening yourself to a risk you could have avoided. It's a constant. They will change, intentionally or not and hurt you beyond measure. They will sweep house off your feet, disappoint you and at some point distabilize you."

Dad said, it's best you don't give them that trust. Just be acquainted, be close with them for as long as they want, don't be too serious about preserving the relationship.

Dad said, it's better to be acquainted than to be friends. Friends win your trust that they'll abuse. Acquaintances don't win the trust.

He said, "LIVE POLITICALLY, WITH NO PERMENANT FRIENDS OR ENEMIES"


Be Wise

DQmfZoXUDraUghMkEQVJGXejkmqG8xx96QVuotaXYC3ka3v (1).gif


Do You Like This Post, Then Checkout Previous Episodes


Have you ever received some level of financial freedom on steemit?

Do you belief the steem blockchain can wipe away poverty in the world?

Then join me as I wage a steem war against poverty

Click the Image To Read More Articles on this

IMG_20180518_084759_966.jpg

Join the tag "steemwaragainstpoverty"

Follow Our Community Account @steem-army

Join our Discord Channel : Steem War Against Poverty

DQmWpisRXDF56mV3DgzzPUxb3R2ozseR48YVr2YKtwtrBcV (1).gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center