Who am I? Untalented Contest @surpassinggoogle

Who am I?

This is that question that either gives you a sense of discovery or opens you up to retrace an existing track.

I grew up in a family of five, 3 girls and two boys. Being the 3rd girl, I always admired to be different with my own definitive peculiarities. Just like every child wanted big dreams, I also had a nursing ambition to become a doctor. Fast-forward to college, I was in science class and attended all the classes, I eventually graduated with flying colors and it became more real that the dream of being a doctor is standing.

My dad was a major source of encouragement but I lost him to the hands of death in 2002, just two years before I finished college. Only then, I knew I was now in for a real deal. My mom who was a soldier on her inside will strive really had just to ensure I finished college and I am able to proceed to university. I wrote the first Joint matriculation examination after I finished in 2004 and passed but the way it runs in Nigeria, passing an exam most times isn't the case as you have to know someone that knows someone that can help you into University. That year went away even when I passed. I tried the next year picking same medicine, since it was a dream I had nurtured for so long. Same story as the previous year, I passed but wasn't picked. So, I decided to try another school which is where I eventually graduated from.

Then, I knew medicine was highly competitive, so I had to streamline my alternative to studying Anatomy or Physiology, maybe I could cross over to studying medicine later. That year, I wasn't picked by my school which was probably due to my not meeting one of the score criteria. I tried again, but this time, the medic field was no longer an option for me, so I decided to apply for mathematics which I was picked for eventually.

I wanted medicine but loved calculations since growing up, maybe that was why the switch was so easy. I will share my experience of school sometimes later. There was this crazy lecturer I will never forget, I'm sure @infovore can relate, will tell the stories later.

I graduated not top of my class but with a good grade. I decided to learn fashion designing when I was in my penultimate year and I am grateful I made that decision when I did. Apparently my heart could see what the future of a job seeker was going to turn out to be. Got out of school just to join other job seekers in a bid to get a good collar job and start a life.
12841200_10153457293717061_8059998708849212952_o.jpg

This time, I didn't waste time chasing that for too long without creating an alternative. I started doing well with learning my fashion designing and in few months I was already falling in love with what I do and started losing interest in the white collar job thing. Fast forward to over 5 years into being a fashion designer and an event planner, I have now employed over 30 graduates and over 50 non-graduates, and still counting. I have not only created jobs for people, I have recreated my dream and knew what worked.
12829016_10153440856002061_1016876836169726391_o.jpg

So if you ask me who am I?

I will say I am a doctor turned fashion designer/event planner
21369354_10154974468182061_5597542891899773254_n.jpg

I am an employer of Labour who never got employed

I am a leader who followed every good advice given even by those who follow me.

This is who I am, and I love Me.

Thank You @surpassinggoogle for this opportunity to share my experience a little.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center