Forest Fires Murdered My Favorite Hiking Spots In Portland

If you know me, you’re probably thinking “wtf” (what the fudge) right about now. Portland songs aren't travel tunes! I call BS on that, nomadic.

But before you burn me with your digital torches, just hear me out!

Before I lived in Portland, I traveled to Portland. Which means I have travel tunes from my first few trips there!

So this counts!!!

So let’s get on with some songs that make me think about hiking. Because there are a lot of amazing hiking spots around Portland (except when forest fires decide to gang up on all of my favorite hiking spots and murder them).

Young The Giant - Mind Over Matter

Kygo - I See Fire Remix

This one wins the award for reminding me of travel while also being literal. Forest fires on the west coast are no joke. And yeah, I saw fire. Drove through it because I zig when everyone else zags. There was no good reason for driving through the burning forest.

Ace Of Base - I Saw The Sign

So this one reminds me of being a kid and riding in the van with my mom. It ALSO reminds me of being in the car driving through the Gorge after an amazing hike where I tried to kill a snake and eat it (which is super offensive to Portlanders, and just weird in general, btw).

I guess you could say this song will always be associated with some sort of moving vehicle.

So, how about you? What’s a song that reminds you of your travels?? Tag it #TravelTunesTuesday so I can find and upvote it! (maybe tag me too, ‘cause sometimes I forget…too much driving through forest fires)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center