Lessons from my first week running the robot at work

I've been running the robot at work all week. I love it because I'm learning. Here's a few things I've taken from the process as I grow.

  1. Robots shouldn't keep you from working hard.
    The robot makes things faster. I'm still putting in effort, which is good. The same effort gives more production than I would making the product by hand. I suppose that's the entire point, huh?

  2. It's more mental strain than hand welding.
    Welding is a very relaxing process. Pushing buttons on a screen when the machine dies doing what it did perfectly just three minutes before is not relaxing.

  3. If you want people to hate you, love your work and do a damn good job of it.
    The department I'm working in is being outsourced. There's more than a few folks in the department that think that's a good reason to decrease production. Maybe it's that I do my own small business for profit, but I consider it immoral to intentionally not work at capacity when someone pays you damn good money for production. On the bright side, I think my boss likes me a bit more now that I'm putting in some effort in the new work space.

And all that from the first week? I sure am glad I started on that robot. Doors are opening and I love it. Maybe this will turn into something.

Y'all stay relevant and productive.

Nate.

P.S.
IDK if anyone reads these things. I don't particularly care about upvotes, though I certainly won't turn them down, but what I really want is productive discussion! If you have something to add, speak up! That's the point of this place.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center