Discrimination Against people of color in the makeup industry

discrimination.png

I really want to start reviewing cosmetic products that often exclude darker shades or limit the shade range for poc (People of Color).

Finding a foundation was always very hard for me either I could not find my shade, that or my shade of skin was darker.

Me being a woman of color although I'm considered dark in pigment in my own opinion, I'm not really considered "dark" or "rich" in my community, often poc (People of color)are darker than a warm tan are excluded from the shade range or have to settle for a shade either too light or too dark due to the fact that there are no in-between colors.

When you google "Foundation" the number one results are ALWAYS for lighter skintones, and honestly, I feel discriminated by this fact as a person of color.

I really hope opening not only poc but everyone outside my shade range or lighter's eyes too the exclusion will make a difference in the long run

I really hope to open not only people of color's eyes, but everyone outside my shade's range, or lighters eyes too the exclusion will make a difference in the long run for everyone.

Take a look at all of these shades of foundation.

Loreal Foundation

As you can see here, the shades of foundation for lighter shade skin tones out number the foundations for darker skin tones.

This is an issue in the make-up industry, as it happens throughout plenty of brands and make-up types.

I really feel that makeup should be presented and showcased and even created for all skintones, not just heavily skewed towards one type.


source

Thank you guys for dropping by on my blog, I appreciate all the likes and follows. I'm going to keep the content coming, so stay tuned.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center