On the night that told its tale

fantasy-2542946_1280.jpg
Source


I kept telling Tomy to drive slowly, it was raining heavily and we did'nt even need the rush actually,

but he gave me that look like I should quit bugging him.

Didier seconded my thoughts, but none of us were given any audience,

well it was not his first time driving this terrain so I chilled,

decided to plug in my earpiece and stopped being paranoid.

A deafening high pitched sound blasted through the stereo,

like a broken signal,

for about 2 seconds it made our ears cringe, it was very odd and unusual,

so we drove on, not able to figure out what it was,

next thing that came was a lightening flash so bright,

Tomy lost control of the wheels for just about 1second,

and I heard a loud thump, from the front of the car,

rolled off the ceiling and bumped to the ground behind us and rolled off into the dark.

The car was engulfed with silence, the car did not stop,

our destination was still an hour and half to go, did we just hit a deer?

Or a man? No one said anything, the air was so cold,

I looked to the back seat of the SUV, Hana, Tina and Sean had the same cold stunned look,

I could almost read their minds, Donny was fast asleep at the last seat at the back,

how could someone be sleeping like that.

Another loud thud came from the engine this time,

it felt like the fan belt broke because there was a continuous whirling sound that was as if something spinning at a fast speed abruptly stopped.

The car slowly came to an halt as the smoke began to fill the car, it was 8:30pm.

I had once imagined a weird cross over night, but not like this,

we were still 1 full hour away from town, only one car had driven past us, the entire time.

The whole place was engulfed in darkness, forests left and right,

what magic could we perform to get us out no one could device,

just ramblings and lamentations of regrets.

The only lightening that shone was from the headlamps of the SUV.

The was a distant dim light that could be seen miles away, but we could not determine its source.

Well, where there is light there is life, our crossover night might as well be made into an adventure afterall,

by the way it was better than just standing by the car waiting for help in the middle of nowhere,

so each person grabbed what they thought they will be needing most for the while and started on our way towards the light.

The ground was muddy,

I kept on stepping into poodles of mud as they were easily covered by the shadows coming from the reflection of rays of light from the phones of the guys

We were 8 of us, 5 girls and 3 guys. Each of guys had a girlfriend, excluding me, and the other girls were just friends.

I didnt want to risk draining my battery by using its torchlight,

the ray of light we sighted from afar could be anything but electricity,

then we will all be stranded with dead phones. That'd be actually worse.

It was few minutes past 9, we had been walking for almost 45 minutes the ray of light we were hoping to reach kept getting farther.

Donny was jesting with the girls all the way, they amazingly forgot their worries, the rain had reduced to a very significant drizzle, I could hear our voices echo through the distant

Maybe the night was not so bad afterall, I decided to relax my nerves and hope for the best, Sean read my mind and gave a sigh of relief

He asked us to wait while he eased himself at the path of the bush.

Maybe only if he had asked for something else, I would'nt have to tell this story.

Our night took a different turn when Donny stepped into that bush.


Watch out for the next part.


2

Donny Donny wake up, Tina is dead we have to go now,Donny! Donnny!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now