Behind the wheel

It's funny how I've been driving for so long, yet I don't feel adequate to drive here. I mean, of course I can, but I don't know if I can do so without having some anxiety in the process. I guess I knew this already, but it's one thing to know it in theory and another one all together to be in the middle of these roads wondering why the motorcycles feel like rules don't apply to them.

The good thing is though, that it's probably not necessary to have a car here and I don't see myself buying one anytime soon. To begin with, the taxi rides are not expensive at all, and most of what I need to do is within walking distance. I can, in about 5 to 10 min be at a store, pharmacy, or a Bank, and that is simply how the city is built.

This means of course, than when peak hours come around, traffic here is unbearable. If the road is meant for two cars, that means four of them will fill it, and it seems like stop signs are more of a suggestion than anything else.

Just yesterday I saw someone blow past one, and to do it "safely" simply flash their brights, as if the action was an announcement of "I'm going fast, watch out". As you might imagine, cops are not actually around as much, so people just get away with driving like maniacs. One interesting thing though, is that I don't see as many accidents here, which seems to contradict the terrible driving. It makes very little sense.

I'll stick to walking as much as possible, and be lame....

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center