Fail, Don't Quit

oliver-cole-232552.jpg

I've been working on my site now for a few months and I've made some progress. I thought I would be further along but at least it's moving.

Besides, it was Christmas time, and now people are just coming back from Chinese New Year.

That means there aren't any excuses left. It's really time to get the products and make some sales.

Oh, and my friends found out about my store. I was trying to keep it a secret but I think it's better that they know. Why keep it a secret? Well, what if I fail, it's not easy to face my group of friends after failing at something. Or, at least that's what I thought.

A friend of mine mentioned that he doesn't care if I fail but he'll destroy me like Lebron did Charles Barkley if I quit.

Makes sense.

I think we are all mature enough to understand you can fail but you can't quit. At least we should understand. There is a difference between failing and quitting.

I knew my friends would support once I started something but I think I needed to actually start it before telling anyone. There is always a thousand reasons not to do something and I didn't need to hear any of those reasons from people I respect.

Maybe they would've said it's not the right product to sell. Maybe they would've said it's a bad idea. Maybe they would've been supportive right from the start. It doesn't matter now because this is the way I did it and so far it has worked for me.

I didn't want to present anyone with the chance to change my mind. When I set out to start my online store only my fiancé knew and if I had her support it was enough.

It seems I'm at the most critical point of my young online store. I have to put up a significant amount of money to order my products.

Some of you may think "So what? Just get on with it" but it's not that simple.

As I mentioned before we got a doberman now, Niko. What's that got to do with anything?

Well, he is a big boy now and doesn't fit in our Honda Civic Coupe. We are looking at buying a new car. Something bigger, an SUV. As you know, the bigger the vehicle, the more expensive it is. Thats expense 1.

I mentioned my fiancé so obviously there is a wedding to consider and where there is a wedding, there is a bachelor party.

I love my group of friends and we want to go on an all inclusive trip. Yeah, I know "Boo-hoo, 25 year old wants to go on an all inclusive and wants to complain it's too scary to buy products to start a business". Well you're right but I'm 25 once. I'm only going to get married once. I'll only have a bachelor party once, so yeah, I'm spending some money to enjoy with my best friends. That's expense number 2.

Now, the big expense. The wedding. It's still a year away but a year goes by real fast. I've put some money away already but I know that I'll still need more. I could put away the money that I would spend on the products and be in a better position for the wedding but my goal is to start a business. That's expense number 3.

Let's not forget the everyday expenses. I've considered all of this. I've also considered the fact that I work at a start up. I think I do a great job but I don't get paid a lot either. Still probably an entry level or close to an entry level salary. Don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining, these are just the facts.

Basically, what I am trying to say is maybe I don't have a lot of extra money but at this stage I don't care. I am willing to take these risks because it's been a dream of mine to start my own business. I never knew what I would do but I have a great idea of what I want to accomplish.

Despite having all of these expenses, I've decided to go ahead and order the products. It may all come crashing down but at least I can say I tried and did something. The potential ROI outweighs the risk in this instance. Actually, I've wanted to do this for so long that I already feel like I feel the returns in my mood. I don't think I'll fail. I definitely don't plan to. Even if I do, I'm going to keep trying until I find a way to reach my goals.

One thing is for certain though, I can't quit because Barkley got it bad from Lebron, but I'll get it worse from my boys.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now