Freaky Beers!

151655sh_20180512105404503_20190126153255834.jpg

Rhubarb!?! Raspberry!?! Is this Beer Saturday or fruit Saturday!?

It can be both! I decree it!

Actually, is rhubarb a fruit? I don't know. There is a mystery for the solving and no mistake. I would Google it but if I do I will be getting adverts for rhubarb for months.

So what do we actually have here? Am I going all of the bonkers? Have I flipped my lid? I must say the choice of beers this week is a little unusual even for me.

But as that chick I used to keep in the basement used to always say... Let's get freaky!

Dhdhx.jpg

Rhubarb and Custard. Two flavours I never thought to see in a beer. It's an Oaty pale ale with rhubarb, vanilla and some spice apparently.

It sounds foul. But oddly, whilst I thought blegh, the good lady was like oh, that looks amazing, can I try? So who knows, different strokes for different folks and all that!

Right let's pour this muck into a glass.

20190126_201848.jpg

How bizarre, on the looks front it's a cracker. In fact, this little baby should be on the beer catwalk. Look at it, white creamy head. Cloudy golden liquid bubbling underneath. Let's go!!

Good lord. Forgive my lack of normal video composure but never has a beer so surprised me. I fully expected this to be a gimmick and to be utterly shit...

Instead I am faced with a biscuit'y smooth beer with the most subtle and amazing sweet rhubarb tang with a hint of vanilla. It's like a donkey broke into my house and did my washing. 10/10 booms?!!

The world has gone crazy.

Does that mean that this daft raspberry number that is up next might be good? Surely not...

Dhdhx_20190126203629483.jpg

I normally don't pit dark beers against pale but the flavours this week just seemed to demand it.

This is the beer recommended by the Irishman in the shop. Well I think that's what he said.

Salted caramel & raspberry. I have only ever had one decent raspberry based beer and countless other shit ones. Fingers crossed this isn't one of the sniders.

20190126_204145.jpg

Oh my, this is a fiercely brown black affair, like the skin on a well barbecued pig. Virtually no head but still, it's a fine looking beast.

I can smell the alcohol off it. Damn it's strong! I better get to it and show it who's boss.

Ha! You could literally knock me down with a feather. This is great too. It's a strong dark malty stout with an incredible subtle raspberry behind the dark malt and the salted caramel cuts over it in an awesome way.

Against all odds, another cracker! 10/10 booms!!

An incredible draw! Two tens, I never thought I would see the day!!!

I am a bloody happy man, I was convinced there would be at least one lame duck out of the two and instead there were two champions.

Have a good weekend everyone!! Hurrah for beer!

20190126_202504.jpg

Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
42 Comments
Ecency