The Strings That Bind

All my life I've been in the dark, all those times I can't figure out
My strength I thought was from within, I lost my childhood in a bout
With people and their insecurities, wondering how children lose to impurities
And the older they get, the bigger their anxieties, praising fake deities
In time this life unfolds, though we don't know what our future holds, holding
Death's hands so cold, or continue to strive for greatness as we live our life so bold
In the midst of all chaos, I stand, I move forward but can't seem to break through
I'm stuck in these strings that bind, struggling for answers I just can't find
Covered by these demons in my mind, my life is on a grind, polishing the steel,
Sharpening the edges from the head to my heel, the wounds of my past is starting to heal
But the scars, they stay to remind me of a life that molded me. From the trauma I got from bullies,
These strings extend as I force my pulleys, I want to knock the barrier that keeps me from being great
The barrier that built me hate. I struggled even more when I pushed people away, I was alone,
There I was a stray.

In a moment of truth I was tested, by time, circumstances and the people I thought I bested
I was fooling myself by believing I was alright, I was in a losing battle with no one to fight
But me, myself and I. Sometimes I even think I wanted to die. But I just can't say goodbye.
I remember I wanted to fly. Get me a pair of fucking scissors and cut these fucking strings!
I've had enough of these things! I'm gonna start ignition and start running, away from these demons
That keep coming. Ready for take off, I'm gonna fly, look at me lift off! No one can stop me.
Once I get going , I get going. Up in the air, I'm gonna get going, so high I'm gonna touch the sky,
I'm gonna fly.

Right in this moment I will say, I will live life day by day. I'm gonna make a move, so get out of the way.
I'm still in the loop of these strings that bind, but I'm gonna leave my past behind. Those people that doubt me don't faze me. I'm gonna move past them, put them all behind me. I'm gonna cherish those days of me in the grind. Because now I'm a sharpened mind and I'm cutting these strings that bind.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now