Bucket List

Yesterday I returned to Puerto Rico after 12 day sin CA and 3 days in TX. My trip to TX was planned but I decided to go to CA last minute to surprise my mom for mothers day.

It all started when my friend Alicia asked me if I was going to be back in CA for Mother’s day weekend. Her company has a suite at Levi stadium and she had extra tickets to attend the USA Women’s soccer match vs. South Africa for their farewell tour before the world cup in France. I debated this idea. Going all the way back for just a soccer game? But then I thought about it a little more. It’s not just any soccer game. When I was a 6 year old girl Mia Hamm was my idol and soccer was my biggest passion.

Going to a USA women’s soccer game had been on my bucket list for the last 2 decades! I went through the pros and cons of going vs not going to CA. Then it came down to the big question I always ask myself when finding it tough to make a decision. Would I regret staying home?

I visualized myself staying home, just getting twitter updates on the game. Watching from home would be nothing like actually being there. So I booked my ticket for CA, and was instantly flooded with the thrilling filling of doing something last minute. I was also thrilled at the idea of surprising people and not telling anyone I was heading back to CA.

I landed in CA at 3AM, slept 3 hours, and then rushed over to my parents house. I had no idea if my mom would still be sleeping or if she would be awake. I tip-toed into her house and discovered everyone was still sleeping. I waited patiently on the couch for her to wake up. Seeing her reaction was priceless! I convinced her to get ready in 2 hours to head to the USA women’s game.

I was proud to get the boldest pen I owned to check attending a USA Women’s soccer match off my bucket list. It may have been small, but it felt incredibly accomplishing. It was a day I will never forget and a reminder to do things last minute that make your heart just a little happier! IMG_3796.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now