Constant Prayer: Replacing “Lub Dup” with “Thank You”; Living a Life of Gratitude

I quit drinking Tuesday. It’s no longer as easy to get to sleep. Last night while lying on my back, hands folded on my chest, I was praying and it became rhythmic, “Thank you, thank you, thank you” – and started to match my heartbeat. I let this go on for several minutes, and started tingling.

I practice energy healing. I started with Jin Shin Jyutsu and have learned several other techniques (EFT, Emotional Freedom Technique, being one of the more powerful ones). After about 40 hours of practice, I started to “feel” the energy moving. To me, it feels like a tingling, similar to when a body part falls asleep but it’s not numb like when it’s asleep, it can still feel, it just has a buzzing or tingling around it.

For others that I know of, it’s a temperature difference, hot or cold; or, magnetic, an attraction/resistance. I think it’s so neat that the “sixth sense” uses an existing pathway – it’s not “something new.” And, every energy healing modality that I have learned about uses deep breathing as part of it – so there’s something energetic about rapidly exchanging the atmosphere into and out of one’s lungs.

I’m bringing tears to my eyes writing this. So last night I decided to make the conscious decision, whenever I hear or feel my heartbeat, to think “Thank you.”

Gratitude makes a world of difference in one’s outlook.

Had a great day yesterday (see my last four posts) and then stupidly fought with the wife just as we were arriving to meet with our friends, and almost left. Glad we didn’t, but I don’t like doing this! I don’t want to behave in ways that make others call me “asshole.” Especially my wife.

Perhaps with a constant focus on gratitude I might be able to curb the outbursts. I don’t know, there’s a physical aspect to it as well; “mind over matter” certainly, but I’ve never been able to levitate a pencil and I tried a whole bunch back in high school after seeing “Carrie” – that movie scared the shit out of me as a teenager, I really didn’t want my parents to discipline me after that, for fear that I might mentally throw a drawer of knives at them. :/

It was my first horror movie. My folks were doing the floor in the TV room so the TV was in the dining room. I was watching “Camelot” on channel 56 out of Boston, and a commercial came on so I figured I’d see what else was on. Came to channel 38 and it was talking about telekenesis. “Neat!” I thought, and wanted to see more. The movie didn’t get gory until I was well invested in it.

But then again, the matter that’s typing this is “under my control” and perhaps it’s time to take better control of it.




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center