REVIEW | ICONIC LONDON LIQUID ILLUMINATOR

 Hello everyone and happy Monday! If there's one thing I love when it comes to makeup, it's beautiful glowing skin. Naturally therefore, I love using highlighters and discovering new ones. Whilst the go-to formula for a highlighter generally tends to be a powder, I've always loved liquid and cream based highlighters due to my dryer skin type. Whilst browsing Cult Beauty and screen-shotting beauty items I didn't have the budget for one day, I came across a liquid illuminator from the brand ICONIC London. For my birthday, I was gifted it by my beautiful best friend Heather and today I'm excited to review it for you all today - enjoy! 
 About the Product:
ICONIC London's Illuminator retails for £32.99 for 13.5ml of product and as mentioned above, it can be purchased in the UK from Cult Beauty or directly from the brands website too. Here's what the brand have to say about their product:
The must-have product everyone is raving about, ICONIC London’s Illuminator is guaranteed to take your highlight to epic new proportions. Every drop of this super-concentrated shimmer elixir glides on smoothly to bestow ultra-blendable glow. Whether worn alone as an enhancer, or mixed with your foundation, primer or moisturiser to create a ‘soft focus’ effect, this lends light to dulled, lacklustre complexions, and looks stunning when blended along cheek and brow bones to accentuate the ‘high points’ of your face.
It comes in three different shades; 
"Original" - a champagne-toned shimmer - this is the shade I have."Shine" - a pearl-pink based glow-giver  "Glow" - a rich terracotta toned glow for a bronzed effect. 

My Thoughts & Feelings:
As mentioned above, the shade I have in this highlighter is "Original". It's a really beautiful champagne-toned illuminator (which does appear more bronze until on the skin) that has a lovely shimmer running through it. The champagne tone is quite evident in this illuminator in the sense that it's a little more on the warmer side than most of my other highlighters. As I do have a warmer skin tone, I think this works really nicely on my skin but it's perhaps not suited for anyone lighter than me unless a more bronzed effect is wanted as opposed to an actual glow. I believe "Shine" however would be a perfect match for those of you with very pale skin. 
 This illuminator is seriously pigmented - it has a dropper packing but believe me when I say you won't need to use it. Just the product on the dropper itself is more than enough product to use on the skin and it goes a seriously long way. When using this product, I make sure that the dropper is empty and simply dot the dropper onto my skin where I want a glow and then blend. As mentioned, just the remnants on the dropper itself is easily enough for my entire face.  
 My favourite way to blend out this product is with a damp beauty blender / beauty sponge and I love how easy it is to do so. Unlike other liquid based highlighters, this one doesn't set straight away so it allows for room to blend and move the product about which lets you achieve the most beautiful, seamless glow. Once it has set, you are left with a gorgeous highlight that leaves you looking bronzed, glowy and beautiful. Because it's a liquid, this settles really nicely on the skin without the cakey-ness that can sometimes come with powder products - for my dryer skin I love how soft and plump it makes my skin look. 
 
Overall Thoughts:
I haven't tried this mixed with my foundation or with a moisturiser yet but as a traditional highlighter, I love this. I don't think I can ever see myself finishing this product anytime soon and I'm highly impressed with how pigmented and concentrated it is. As I said above, the shade "Shine" would be perfect for fairer skin tones whilst "Glow" would be a great match for medium-darker skin - although I would love the brand to release some more varied shades of this illuminator in the future too. If you're into glowy skin and love highlighters, I'd definitely add this one to your wish list.
What are your thoughts on liquid highlighters? What's your favourite highlighter?
Levinia, xo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center