Dirty Hands But Reputable Person

I have been to this shoe repair shop several times and the last time I went here was last week. I never get to know the name of this guy so last week while waiting for my in-law’s shoes to get stitched, I took the opportunity to snap a few shots with his permission. Then I asked a few questions about their shop out of curiosity.

His name is Ryan and he is the son’s shop owner. While he was stitching the shoes he was telling me about their business. He told me they have been in the business for several decades. The business was started by his grandparents. I can sense his devotion to his work and pride in what his grandparents have established.

This type of job is one that can be identified as literal dirt in the hands. Obviously, shoes are attached to the feet so that our feet would not get dirty while walking. It also protects us from heat, cold, and or any material that can harm our feet. Besides, it is more convenient to walk or run with shoes on. However, we should not look down on people whose type of work appears to be literally dirty. This is a dignified type of work so we should be proud of it.

I remember my parents, especially my father, and his type of job. He is a motorcycle mechanic. During my early childhood, he was well known in our place as being the only authorized motorcycle mechanic by one of the leading motorcycle brands in the country. I used to assist him during my younger years whenever he had lots of motorcycles to repair. You will get your hands dirty, literally. You will have cracks on your fingers due to long exposure to oil, grease, kerosene, gasoline, and other chemicals used in motorcycle repair. A callus will build up on your hands. Sometimes I get wounded by tools and sharp metal parts of the motorcycle during unfortunate circumstances. Father doesn’t own a shop. He just fixes motorcycles along the empty pavement in town so it’s kind of a challenge for him.

Father never finished his schooling. However, he is the only motorcycle mechanic in our town who attends seminars whenever a new motorcycle model is released. He gained the trust of some motorcycle dealers and spare parts stores in our town (now a city), so they want my father to represent seminars on their behalf.
No one among my siblings has inherited the skills of my father in motorcycle repair. I didn’t even learn how to overhaul a motorcycle engine. But of course, I have learned to fix minor troubles with a motorcycle because I have been helping him since I was a kid. I wanted to learn to fix motorcycle engines but my father would not teach me. He only let me do the minor fixing whenever he was loaded with engines to fix.

I just realized the reason why my father would not let me inherit his skills. Mother told me that he would not want me to follow in his footsteps. He never wants me to live and have dirty hands for the rest of my life. That is how my father sees his type of work. So they let me graduate from college and chose whatever I want in life.
Nevertheless, I am so proud of my father despite the struggles and hardships our families have been through during our early years.

I no longer live with my parents as I have my own family now. My father is turning 75 years old on the 22nd of this month. He is doing well although he has been having some complications due to hypertension.

Life is a cycle. Some parents would want their children to follow in their footsteps or inherit a business. Other parents would not want that cycle for some reason.

I may not be like Ryan who appears to be inheriting his family business but I have gained my father's skills in fixing motorcycles. It may not be a full skill but it is something to be proud of because back in the day such a skill was not taught in school. It was learned through experience which is the best education.

https://larszig.com/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now