An unfortunate Christmas eve

Well steemians I returned home to my place this morning after spending the night with my mom and little brothers. One of my brothers has been struggling a little bit so I've been spending time with him letting him know he's not in it alone. To my huge and disgusted surprise I found that my house had been broken into. I live in a college town close to campus where literally everyone goes home for a month and houses are left empty. A perfect scenario for someone late at night walking down the road looking for empty homes to search.
Unfortunately they picked last night to do it, the only night this week I haven't been home. They must have been in a hurry because the only things that I have found to be missing were my two cameras that were sitting on my mantle piece. One is the camera that I use to take all my photos, a Nikon D3200. The other camera stolen was an old film camera that my late father purchased while he was on vacation in Japan cerca 1995. I used it slightly when I was younger but due to the fact that all the buttons were in Japanese I was never very successful and it became a decorative piece with sentimental value.
I filed a police report and have started scanning local peer to peer retail outlets in hopes of possibly finding it. Due to the fact that it's Christmas all the pawn shops are closed and I will have to wait to notify them. I'm not really hopeful it will turn up because life's not fair and I don't want to get my hopes up. The really unfortunate thing is that this was the only time I have left my camera at home over the past week and a half since I've started Steemit and been driven to grow as a photographer as I try to capture more and better content.
They broke in through a window that was locked but due to the house being very old the window locks work about as good as the windows do at retaining heat. I feel sad and betrayed by my fellow man. I think if they knew how much those cameras meant to me they might not have taken them.
Anyways I won't be posting any brand new content for a couple weeks until I can find and purchase a replacement, I sold off some Litecoin to purchase a new camera but with the holiday season things wont be able to be shipped to my house till like the 5th of January. Until then I will hopefully be able to continue posting beautiful and interesting content from my travels and experiences over the summer.
Much love and merry Christmas/Happy Holidays to all you Steemians out there. Some times bad things happen and that's just life, I'll take this as a lesson and grow from it.

B

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now