When You Become Someone's Uncle or Aunt

I don't have an addiction to writing. It's proven by the last few days where I didn't write and felt nothing about it. There's an aspect of the family experience that honours the elders, and when you're a certain age you are put on a pedestal of experience and given privileges like being able to say what's on your mind without as much of a consequence. I experience this aspect as if the idea of family were selling me itself by saying I can be great in my unique way being someone that's older. But it could be in reverse. I'm bogged down in all my knowledge about the world, and children are empty without this. Even if I don't change, everyone around me is changing and making families. That changes my value to the community because the community's standards are changing, and I'm getting older. There's a school of thought that say children are teaching us things while the knowledge about the world we adults have is secondary to what children teach us, what parts of ourselves unconditioned by this world teach us. Simultaneously, we don't take children seriously, especially if we're required to step back for them to step forward. I'm not receptive to figuring out children's thinking behind a decision they've made.

I can easily imagine myself doing everything except throw them out to teach them manners and that they can't assert their way of seeing through directly arguing and recruiting emotions and feelings to bolster their position. Ideally I would have a solution to their temper tantrums and give them a way to state their point by showing how everyone benefits from their way and not my way. As I see it, it's more difficult for these future adults to not know about the world of money and jobs and conditions than it is to know from the very beginning.

I think of it as it's better to know the world than to know the fantasy and be tempted by the fantasy of mainstream media. Isn't it more exciting to do things that work in the real world instead of fantasizing about it and struggling to make things work? And please, no sugary treats, only in depth explanation and forcing children to know the world. That it's not a scary place, if you take responsibility for yourself and give what is expected for you to live a normal life. If you look more closely at this real world, there's a lot more room to play than there is in imagination and fantasies. Because at least the room for play is real. Don't be human if you are repulsed by recognizing what is real and what is not.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center