The phrase "I don't have time" and why it's ludicrous.

Me: You should pursue that.  You clearly have talent.

Other: I don't have time.


I hear this phrase all the time and in many different contexts.


Me: Let's do lunch this weekend.

Other:  I don't have time.


Really?  


Me: I'm working on a video game podcast.  Since you're a gamer, how about you come on for an episode?

Other: I don't have time.


That's when I get really heated.  If I am talking to someone about something I do and they have an interest in that thing, video games for example, and they hit me with that phrase, I take it as an insult.  What you're saying to me is, "Hey, you clearly have too much time on your hands and my time is valuable.  I have a life and you don't."  Perhaps I'm just being overly sensitive, but it pains me when someone says they don't have time for something and I compare their life to mine... I'm a father, husband, work a full-time job, go to the gym, visit family, help a neighbor, do yard work & other chores, and I find the time to pursue other interests.  Some of the people that use that dreaded phrase are not married, don't have kids, just live a carefree life, for the most part.  Of course there could be things going on in their personal lives that I'm not aware of such as taking care of a sick relative, volunteering at a homeless shelter, playing on a local sports team, etc..  Even so, there is always time for other pursuits.  


I guess I would rather people be more up front with me, perhaps just tell me you're not interested in hanging out, you don't share the same pursuits as me, or you would rather spend your time vegging-out on a couch.  


Life is short and I want to do some things before I go.  My mistake is thinking others might want to come along for the ride.  


Am I being paranoid or do you also hate the phrase, "I don't have the time."  If so, tell me why in the comments.  Thanks.  


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center