An Environmentalists' Diary; Part 1: Making My Own PreShampoo Mask, and Shampoo and Conditioner

I love being a woman, and I love taking care of my body. I can't say I've been doing that best at it over my lifetime, but now that I have chosen the path of being a better environmentalist, I'm hoping the earth and my body will thank me as my life continues on.

Sorry to be absent for a few days! My roommate turned 26 on Sunday and had invited everyone to go camping out in Hana. No service there, and when I got back, was working and keeping busy with things life throws at you which made it difficult to find time to sit down, write, and be creative.

But, I have been researching simple products to make at home!

This is the start of my new series: An Environmentalists' Diary

My list of things to get at the store just keep growing :)

I wasn't really sure where to start with posting recipes. So I just decided to start at the top of my body and work my way down. Today, I will offer you the simplest and most inexpensive recipe for a shampoo and conditioner, as well as hair masks. The recipes were consistent across my web searches, only changing in combination of specific oils, eggs, mayo, honey....etc. Turns out, a lot of people are taking the initiative to use simpler products containing far less chemicals which cost less as well. Basically, there's a lot of really good stuff out there.

I am not affiliated with the products I am using, these are all things I bought on my own based off of ingredients lists

I will start with Pre-shampoo masks!
I had a giftcard to Sephora that I kept forgetting about, so I decided to spend it on a nice hair mask. I heard from a hairstylist that Bumble and Bumble offered a good one, so I went to Sephora and purchased it. It luckily doesn't have any sulfates or parabens in it either! The main ingredients are:
-Grapeseed Oil
-Safflower Seed Oil
-Sweet Almond Oil
-Macadamia Nut Oil
-Argan Oil
-Coconut Oil
If you click on the link attached to "Bumble and Bumble" above, it will take you to the Sephora site that provides the full ingredients list.

My DIY hair mask is very simple. I found it through searching "DIY Hair Mask" on Pinterest, and made my own combination of:
-1 egg yolk
-1 Tbsp. raw honey
-1 Tbsp. coconut oil

Quick video of the hair masks.

To use: Apply the hair masks and leave them in for about 20 minutes or so, then rinse and shampoo. Use masks about once a week, or once every two weeks depending on how oily or dry your hair is. I work outside and am in the sun and saltwater a lot, so having masks to give my hair some rejuvenation really helps keep it healthy!

Now, for the extra simple shampoo and conditioner.
Shampoo:
-1 Tbsp. baking soda
-1 Cup water

Conditioner:
-1 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
-1 Cup water
-A few drops of essential oil (lavender, peppermint) (OPTIONAL, for scent)

Another quick video!

To use: Shake the shampoo to make sure baking soda is not just sitting at the bottom. Apply directly to wet hair and let it sit for about three minutes. Start working it in at the roots then throughout your hair. Rinse.
Give ACV conditioner a shake as well, apply directly to wet hair after shampooing.
This combination of shampoo and conditioner is meant to restore your hair and scalp back to it's natural pH. After using chemical based products for years on end, it make take a period of time for you hair to adjust to the new simpler products. Another bonus to these recipes is they are much cheaper than what I normally buy! Living on a budget makes this so much easier!

I hope you guys like this first post of my new and basic recipes. Stay tuned for headache relievers, face scrubs, and good recipes for your bellies! All with the intent of reducing my use of chemicals and reducing my carbon footprint!

Jill

All photos and videos on this post are original from my iPhone, and my boyfriend's fancy camera

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now