Communication Style

In my earlier days as a flight attendant, I was exposed to all the different cultures of the world all at once, it was an overdrive. In the mist of chaos, I had a friends who would cut me of. Many of my stories were untold, unfinished. First I tossed it over my shoulder but as I become closer to them it became annoying. In my head they were obnoxious and rude. I felt like my voice was unimportant and not funny. I couldn't take it anymore and I decided to be asian about this matter and slowly not hang out with them. (Yes I am Asian)

But the Portuguese speaking friend of mine wouldn't take the hint. She kept calling me out to hang out with her other friends who, to me felt like they don't like me talking. Her persistence got to me, and I broke. I told her why I don't want to hang out with her.

To my surprise, She started laughing and explained to me her culture. Everyone was just eager to join in my conversation and contribute their opinion. That was all. I was to busy feeling bad about being cut off, I wasn't listening to what others were saying. I noticed they never ignored what I said, but rather create empathy by sharing their own experience.

There is no way to say who was right or who was wrong even though I came form a culture of 'Listening = Respect'. However, I still felt wrong for judging them as rude when they were being extra friendly in their own way. They felt like I was not opening up and sharing with them because to them it felt like I was uninterested in their stories. It was a cultural misunderstanding.

Now this was MY experience. I know that this story does not mean everyone from Portuguese speaking countries do the same, or live by the same culture.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center