An Unforgettable Lesson from a Fifth Grader

It was around 6PM and we're about to start our tutorial session.

Kim: Miss, I'm going to give you something. Have a seat. Have a seat.

He couldn't contain his excitement. As if he was the one who would receive a gift. He handed down a small action figure which was unfamiliar to me.

Me: Oh, thanks! I am just curious. Why are you giving this to me?

Kim: I'm giving this to you because that's the only thing I have.

I was reminded that sometimes we have no idea of the sacrifices our loved ones or people in general make just to give us something. For an adult like me the action figure would be of no use but to a fifth grader it's a treasure.

My primary love language has always been words of affirmation. It's followed by quality time. I couldn't appreciate gifts. The incident with the fifth grader changed my perspective about giving and receiving gifts.

It's been 8 years since the incident. I am no longer teaching, but I still have the action figure. I just found out two days ago that it's Sgt. Frog.

P_20180331_075959_MT_1.jpg
Keroro Gunsou (Sgt. Frog)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center