Helping others in my own little way

Hi everyone! Today I would like to share one overwhelming experience that I had recently. I am overflowing with joy, it has been a long time since I've had the chance to continue doing something I am really passionate about. But before that, allow me to share with you one story.

How it all started

This happened during my high school years, I cannot remember the exact year though, but it was in my mother's province, Leyte. While we were on a vacation, the elders of the family decided to visit a place which is quite far from where we live. Almost everybody joined the trip since all are convinced it would be fun given the number of people joining plus its a chance to visit a new place. The planning phase was exciting however, just like any trips, the fate of the children will be decided by the elderly. ( haha) In short...me and my younger sister didnt make it through the cut, we ended up staying at home since they told us we were still too young for the trip and will not enjoy since there is nothing there for children like us. For the two of us , case is closed and no more room for an appeal. However, our eldest sister's case is different. She has always been the outgoing one. The most active in activities like this. So.... her name was 1st on the list.

We thought everything was going fine until we received a call that my sister had to be rushed to the hospital. I wasn't sure of the exact cause and I don't understand much that time so even my mom did not bother to explain. All we were told is that she needed a blood donor badly. Blood transfusion has to take place as soon as possible or else we might lose her . The bad news did not end there, my sister's blood type is AB+ ( which is rare ) and none from our family could match this. The municipality was not that developed so there was no blood readily available to be bought even if we could. As kids, there was nothing we could do. We just had to wait and pray that things will be better. So we W A I T E D. This was one of the times I saw how scared my little sister is. I couldn't comfort her because I myself also was scared to death. It was so scary not knowing what exactly is going on and not being able to do anything but wish for a miracle to happen... and MIRACLES happen. It was not long when we heard the news that they were able to find a blood donor for my sister.A stranger saved my sister's life.

A vow to myself

After this incident , I realized how hard it is to be in a situation where you could not do anything but pray that someone miraculously appears and solves everything. This is mostly the case for the people in need of blood. I know that nowadays you can buy blood in numerous blood banks but we have to remember that not any one is capable of buying .
So, I have made a vow to myself that if ever I get the opportunity to donate and share my blood I would.
I started donating blood during my college years. All thanks to my Alma Mater, Adamson University , for organizing blood donation drives regularly . Me and my classmates were present all the time. We would go there during our break time to donate blood. It was actually fun because they were also giving us food, sometimes a burger or cake and soda to somehow replenish what we've donated. I was doing this donation regularly for 4 entire years and continued even after I graduated... and this made me happy.

My 1st Blood Donation in UAE

So , after staying in Dubai for almost 3 years. I never imagined I would be able to continue my vow here. But guess what? A couple of weeks after new year, my cousin sent me a message asking if I would be interested to donate blood because their office organized one for a day. So I said yes, this was somehow a dream come true for me. I was nervous at first since I was recently sick after new year but I went there, I took my chances, had my blood screened ....and my blood made it =)

Here, let me show you some shots I have taken to document my 1st ever blood donation overseas =)

IMG_7128.jpg

A took a picture of my arm to kill time while waiting for it to finish.
IMG_7131.jpg

And at last.... the bag that will have save other's life.
IMG_7133.jpg

I wanted to share this to encourage others to also donate blood if they have the opportunity. We might not know exactly who will be getting it but one thing is for sure, it will help somebody in need. This is my way of thanking that person who saved my sister's life and I am really enjoying it knowing I am able to help people in my own little way.

If you find this helpful and worthy of your time please upvote and resteem this post .
What are you waiting for let's create a change by sharing our #gratefulvibes story!
@iamdeth

Cast your vote and support @surpassinggoogle , my witness and inspiration to continue learning and growing.

To vote visit,
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Type "steemgigs" as a witness in the search box then vote as shown below:

re127f3gcm.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center