Uncomfortable Conversation

I shared this on my other social media profile, and it set off a firestorm of emotional vitriole from some of the people on my friends list.

https://mic.com/articles/184170/why-do-white-people-still-not-get-that-cultural-appropriation-isnt-ever-cultural-appreciation#.CkubPx5Kg

Of those that it set off, at least two I realize I don't know very well. Of the two I don't know very well, I have not actually face to face met one of them and we only friended on that platform through circumstance. The rest I have a stronger connection to, and know in person.

All I said in regard to the article was: "I thought this article writer really stated her case eloquently and clearly." And then the knives came out from certain people.

I'm a strong person. I can take criticism, and to some degree the slings and arrows of others' opinions. I also think uncomfortable conversation is absolutely necessary, as long as it remains conversation and doesn't degrade into violence, emotionally or physically.

That said, warm hugs all around.

warmhug.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now